Life Lessons

For my birthday last year, I commemorated the occasion here on Museworthy by taking a nostalgic tour through 1968, the tumultuous year I was born. That was brutal. Now another year has passed and I can’t believe how quickly times flies. That post was a year ago! I remember writing it like it was yesterday.

I’m feeling pressure to say something profound, to reflect on my 41 years and evaluate my successes and failures, triumphs and disappointments. But I write enough about myself -my worries, moods, and insecurities – on this blog. I will engage in those personal assessments, but this time I’ll do it in private, with a box of tissues and a bottle of bourbon. No, no, I’m just kidding! All things considered, I’m a pretty lucky girl.

Though my birthday is tomorrow, I already received a terrific birthday present last week. I had an echocardiogram to check on the condition of my congenital heart defect. I was born with a narrowed, “stenotic” aortic valve, which formed during my fetal development as a “bicuspid” instead of the normal “tricuspid”. This was of great concern throughout my childhood and adolescence and my parents went through a lot because of it. But I got my test results back and, lo and behold, that thing is still going strong. I passed with flying colors! So I’ve made it to 41 and I still don’t need a valve replacement. Not yet anyway. For now, I’ll take it ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll post again very soon and it will be with another year notched in my belt. Until then, check out this video about “Famous Failures”. It might inspire you to ponder the true nature of ย life, the journeys we take, the idiots we encounter along the way, and the adversities we face, and overcome. Life isn’t a smooth ride. Now what fun would that be?

15 thoughts on “Life Lessons

  1. K L says:

    Claudia,
    How true it is.

  2. Lin says:

    Happy Birthday, my dear friend. And huge congrats on your test results! Now that really did make me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ray says:

    happy Birthday Claudia,
    Keep going forward as best you can and thank for all those blogs full of art and infomation. Each one of your blogs is unwraped like a special gift!

    Ray

  4. swatch says:

    Hey Claudia – may you have great blessings on your birthday – thank you for your gifts – Stephen

  5. PADoug says:

    Happy birthday Claudia! Nice to know we are only one month apart!

    41… Geeze, I went for a job interview a few weeks ago, and for the fisr t time, realized that the people talking to me could be my kids. But I realized something else. I have a lot of life and experience left, perhaps more than when I was younger. I see past experience as a foundation like a tree trunk. We can either branch out,, or continue growing straight and strong. I prefer the former…

    I pray you that you will continue the same way.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Happy birthday (you certainly don’t look your age!), and glad to hear that your health concerns are remaining stable.

    A salutary video clip – I’m going to get my kids to watch it!

  7. LK says:

    I thought I felt a tremor in the earth today,

    You’re young and thriving wild and beautiful!

    Cheers and Happy Birthday!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Happy Birthday, Claudia! You’re the greatest!

    Every morning after I feed the kids breakfast, I serve myself a bowl of cereal and turn on my computer. The first thing I do is check your blog to see if you’ve written a new entry. What can I say? I love to hear my dear friend’s voice in the morning.

    I love you, Claudia. I hope you are enjoying this very special day.

    Steph

  9. artmodel says:

    Thank you everyone for the birthday wishes!!!!!!!!

    Hugs and kisses . . . .

    Claudia

    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. D says:

    A belated Happy Birthday to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    D

  11. Brian says:

    Claudia,

    Late as usual…happy birthday my friend.

  12. bbrian017 says:

    I posted this in my blog forums a few weeks ago and din’t get one reply! I thought ti was amazing video especially the part about Michael Jordon! omg,,

    • artmodel says:

      bbrian017,

      Very surprising you got no response. But I’m glad you liked the video. I agree, the Michael Jordan one is especially unbelievable. And Walt DIsney “lacking imagination”!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  13. bbrian017 says:

    yeah lacking imagination! Seriously that was a good laugh actually!

Leave a Reply

