Wet Dreams

We are getting soaked here in New York! Mother Nature is inflicting a major hydration treatment on us. I can’t remember when we’ve had so many days of near-constant rainfall. I wonder if this is wettest spring on record? It poured like crazy yesterday. Right now the sun is out. It’s a miracle! But rain is coming tonight, and again tomorrow all day. At least the lawns and flower gardens are getting a thorough watering. I’m concerned for my tomato plant, though.

The Umbrellas, by Pierre-Auguste Renoir:

renoir-umbrellas

How is everyone? I hope you’re all well. I’m consumed with love and gratitude for my friends and family, all of whom are generously offering diversions from my struggles. My awesome brother Chris treated me to a movie recently. We met at the Lincoln Square Theaters and agreed to see “Terminator Salvation”. It was the perfect choice. As a man, Chris got to spend two hours looking at explosions and stuff blowing up. As a woman, I got to spend two hours looking at Christian Bale 😉 Mmm . . .

I’m most happy right now because my dear friend Stephanie is in town visiting from Florida. We were best friends in middle school and high school and hadn’t seen each other in 22 years. Yes, you read that correctly – 22 years. Stephanie and I spent the day together on Tuesday and it was a wonderful reunion. Lots of hugging and crying! I’ll be seeing her again this weekend before she goes back. I love Steph 🙂

My cousin Armen, newly graduated from Clark University, will soon be heading off to France to attend Thich Nhat Hanh’s mindfulness retreat at Plum Village. I wish I was going with him. Instead, I’ll have to endure what is turning out to be an incredibly slow summer for art modeling work. It’s by far the slowest I’ve seen. Damn the economy!

Before I sign off, here’s one more rain painting. A lovely one too. This is Wet Night by George Bellows:

bellows-wetnight

9 thoughts on “Wet Dreams

  1. Enjoy the rain.

    I especially like the Renoir. I tend to be a slicker, raincoat, kind of guy & Alaska’s not an umbrella place. Hence this Renoir leads my thoughts elsewhere:

    Once, in Japan, I was visiting the Tosho-gu shinto shrine in Nikko when busloads of first graders, in their school uniforms and little yellow school caps, off on a field trip, suddenly filled the shrine courtyard surrounding me. It started raining and just a suddenly the field of yellow caps I was standing in disappeared and I was waist high in of umbrellas, -like floating in a sea of turtles!

    By the way, Claudia, you might have noticed one of the concepts expressed at Plum Village, where your cousin Armen is headed, is: “The Dharma is like rain. Let it penetrate deeply into our consciousness, watering the seeds of wisdom and compassion that are already there.”

    Now it’s just as true that Rain is like Dharma. Even though you aren’t heading to France you can let the rain ‘penetrate deeply into your consciousness, watering the seeds of wisdom’, etc.

    So! Again; Enjoy the rain!

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      I love that story about the first-graders, “floating in a sea of turtles”. What a great description. A cute and memorable moment. Thank you for sharing.

      I really appreciate your bringing the “Dharma is like rain” concept to my attention. My consciousness is highly penetrated and the process will continue I’m sure. And yes, I will enjoy the rain 🙂

      Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, Jim.

      Claudia

  2. Rog says:

    Welcome to Hilo, Hawai’i…

  3. suzanne says:

    Claudia,
    Thanks for sharing the old friend reunion. It’s hard to describe how or why seeing good friends from years past can be so beneficial to the psyche. I am glad to know that you are feeling better. Perhaps your visit with Steph will be a stepping stone to the lighter place you’ve been trying to get back to. Kind of like being calibrated. I used to see an acupuncturist to help with bouts of insomnia. It was really helpful. I began to think of it those visits as getting myself calibrated.

    Thanks for posting the wonderful paintings, drawings and photos. I have not been so moved by art that is not music, film or photography in a very long time.

    • artmodel says:

      Suzanne,

      What beautiful and sensitive comments. Thank you so much! Even though I was excitedly looking forward to seeing Stephanie, I didn’t realize how meaningful the reunion was until I saw her face-to-face. She even said that it felt as if we just picked up where we left off 22 years ago. That’s a true friendship. And it was, like you stated, beneficial to the pysche.

      I’m so happy that you’ve been moved by some of the art and images posted here on Museworthy. That makes me feel great. I hope you keep visiting.

      Thanks again for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. ColdSilverMoon says:

    Hope you had with your friend, Claudia! Sounds like things are turning around for you, which I’m very happy to hear – no one deserves it more. Thank you for sharing those paintings – the Renoir piece was beautiful.

    Summer is a slow time for art models. Maybe we should make our own event? Might be a nice diversion…

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks ColdSilverMoon!

      Yes, that Renoir is a beauty. I’m not a huge fan of his generally, but this one is lovely. I like the colors especially.

      Of course art models should take some initiative during the slow season. But we seem unable to make things happen as a group. Looks like it’s up to just you and me. I’m game!

      Claudia

  5. ColdSilverMoon says:

    I’m game as well – up for a dual session?

Leave a Reply

