Eyes on the Prize

I am the luckiest blogger in the world. I was thinking about how much I’ve been clinging to Museworthy these days, and I realized that the usual reasons – my love of art, art modeling, writing, and self-expression – haven’t been the driving forces of late. It’s been my readers. My intelligent, articulate, insightful, compassionate, amazing readers. The ones who comment, the ones who email, the ones who participate and, yes, even the ones who lurk and follow Museworthy in silence. All of them. All of YOU.

Today I get to see my niece, brother, and aunt at an impromptu get-together at my Mom’s house. It’s a beautiful day and the sun is shining. It’s a day that will surely knock the beast down a peg, and I’m grateful for that.

Before I head out, I’d like to give you two paintings. I was inspired to post them by the recent comments of my reader Lin. Her thoughts and sentiments on my last blog entry lifted my spirit, roused my inner strength, and spurred me to acknowledge something that the beast mercilessly causes you to forget – the fluctuating, unpredictable nature of life. That our personal journeys are full of doors and windows opening and closing. Peaks and valleys. Ebbs and flows. Light and darkness, and then light again. Thank you, Lin, for reminding me that I have things to live for.

I rarely post interiors on Museworthy, but these are an exceptionally appropriate visual metaphor for life’s complex navigation – glimmers of hope, unexplored spaces, and the promise of better days. They are both from the Danish artist Vilhelm Hammershoi. The first is White Doors, 1905, and the second is Dust Motes Dancing in the Sunbeams, 1900.

Hammershoi-whitedoors

Hammershoi-sunshine

I’m still climbing out of this hole, refusing to give up. But I’m climbing . . . one inch at a time . . . keeping my eyes on the prize . . .

Love to everyone
xoxo

10 thoughts on “Eyes on the Prize

  1. fredh1 says:

    Wow, lovely paintings, and you’ve introduced me to yet another artist I’d never heard of. Thanks.

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Fred. Glad you like the paintings. It’s fun to post lesser-known artists for a change, and take a break from the “usual suspects” – Picasso, Matisse, Degas, etc.

      Claudia

  2. Lin says:

    Aww, thanks a million, Claudia! You have rendered me quite speechless! You’ve no idea how much I appeciate your words. And I love the paintings too. Such beautiful use of light! Thank you, my friend!

    • artmodel says:

      Lin,

      Your friend indeed 🙂

      You deserve the acknowledgement for your support and encouragement. Yes, the use of light in these paintings is very beautiful, and the way to get through tough times is to constantly move toward the light.

      So happy to know you, Lin. Thanks again.

      Claudia

  3. Ron says:

    You go girl! Keep up the good work!

  4. Sullivan says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    Sully

    • artmodel says:

      Sully,

      Feeling SLIGHTLY better. It happens in ever so gradual increments. So no “Beast is Dead!” celebrations just yet. I still have a long way to go. But every little bit matters.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Claudia

  5. lkwinter says:

    I’ve (we’ve) read every single post since I’ve found your page here, and I feel the ebbs and tides with you, and I like it when the clouds break away and a little sunshine flows your way. : )

    The first painting, before I started reading: I thought they were photographs!

    Your eye for intriguing art has never failed.

    Anyways, I hope you can keep climbing till that beast is long gone and becomes a part of the distance past dear friend.

    scott

    • artmodel says:

      Scott,

      I’m so happy you commented on this particular post. I was secretly hoping you would 😉

      You are a loyal reader – and a brave man – to be following my ups and downs so closely. It really comforts me knowing that you’re out there. Your sincerity, loyalty, and sensitivity are immeasurable.

      For your kindness and your support, thank you friend . . .

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

