Rhapsody in White

Darling readers, I have inflicted my “beast” troubles on you enough I think. (For those of you new to Museworthy, “beast” is my code word for depression). I bragged recently about having beaten him off for ten consecutive months. No small feat for anyone who’s acquainted with their own beast. I was so proud of myself. But friends, I have been keeping a secret from all of you, and hiding deftly behind my blogging. About two weeks ago, the beast returned, snarling, menacing, with fists raised, ready to challenge me to yet another epic battle. This time, sadly, he won 😥 It’s especially disheartening because I was feeling so good. I guess a relapse is what I deserve after blowing my own horn. Now I’m down for the count, and it feels pretty awful.

But I’m not going to dwell on my depression because it’s, well, depressing! Instead, I’m going to wallow in white, and use this opportunity to post some pictures I took of the dogwood tree in my backyard, in spectacular full bloom. I hope you enjoy them.

IMG_1100

IMG_1111

IMG_1112

Taken from the upstairs of my house, this view is looking west, across my neighbors’ yards. The dogwood needs a pruning, as you can see. But I can’t bring myself to do it. I’m weird like that. I just want her to thrive, flourish, and spread her limbs. Grow, baby, grow!

IMG_1101

The white theme continues with the one and only Kate! The feral cat diva herself. The princess of Bayside, Queens. After being MIA for weeks, she finally decided to grace me with her almighty presence, stroll on over to the south side of the street, and pay me a visit. Nice to see you my adorable old friend! Right after I snapped these pictures, she hissed at me for no apparent reason. Bitch.

IMG_1114

I love this cat’s markings. Her white is as bright as the dogwood blossoms.

IMG_1123

How about some art? This beautiful white painting is from Impressionist artist Eva Gonzales. Originally a student and model of Edouard Manet, Eva became a successful artist in her own right. Her career would likely have reached even greater heights had her life not been tragically cut short when she died during childbirth at the age of 34. Year 1876, this is Morning Awakening:

gonzales-morning-awakening

From the American artist Abbott Handerson Thayer, this is Angel, circa 1889. I sure could use one of these watching over me right now. Thayer, interestingly, suffered from severe bipolar disorder:

angel-thayer

Since I’m doing white, and I’m a fanatical Beatles fan, I might as well post the cover of the White Album:

beatles-white

My very, very favorite Beatles song of all time is from the White Album. So because I’m trying to cope with this episode – and it’s a tough one this time – I’m treating myself to that very song. Why not? Consider it my own personal Prozac (which I don’t take, by the way). So please join me in listening to John Lennon’s mini-masterpiece, the exquisite and uniquely sensitive “Dear Prudence”. And, as always, thanks for reading. Love you all 🙂

Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play
Dear Prudence, greet the brand new day
The sun is up, the sky is blue
It’s beautiful and so are you
Dear Prudence won’t you come out to play

Dear Prudence open up your eyes
Dear Prudence see the sunny skies
The wind is low the birds will sing
That you are part of everything
Dear Prudence won’t you open up your eyes?

Look around round
Look around round round
Look around

Dear Prudence let me see you smile
Dear Prudence like a little child
The clouds will be a daisy chain
So let me see you smile again
Dear Prudence won’t you let me see you smile?

Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play
Dear Prudence, greet the brand new day
The sun is up, the sky is blue
It’s beautiful and so are you
Dear Prudence won’t you come out to play

13 thoughts on “Rhapsody in White

  1. Ray says:

    Dear Claudia

    These are beautful paintings. I never saw them before. I am also fond of the use of white in many ways. I had no idea you were suffering from a bout of depression. For what it’s worth .You have a keen eye for art, a command of the
    of the English language as you demo for us thru your great Blogs.

    Now I see another facet to you, your a great photographer. Try to focus on all these gifts and strengths. You have a huge fan base. You are also a beautiful person. Hang in there the summer is coming.

    • artmodel says:

      Ray,

      Those are such kind thoughts and sentiments. Thank you. I’m flattered that you think I have so many talents! I try, that’s all I can say. I hope to improve in my photography, so I can wow you even more with my pictures. It’s fun and I enjoy it.

      I really appreciate your supportive comments. Thanks again.

      Claudia

  2. dougrogers says:

    Hey, just dropping in to say hi, and to make you a cup of tea.

  3. Kim Shannon says:

    The beast couldn’t possibly have won… you’re still here to tell the tale of the battle. It just took that round, that’s all. You’ll kick its ass next time.

    • artmodel says:

      Kim,

      I literally burst into tears when I read your comments, I was that profoundly moved by them. Your encouragement is priceless, as is your defiance. Awesome! Just what I needed 🙂

      So glad you stopped by and posted. Thank you, thank you! LOVE your site, by the way.

      Claudia

  4. Ron says:

    It’s good to have the Beatles as allies. Listening to them always makes me feel better. You’ll get by with a little help from your friends.

  5. Ken Januski says:

    Many colors often seem to be the ‘most beautiful color in the world.’ That is until you see the white of a dogwood in spring!

    Recently I realized that though nature can be very beautiful, photos often fail to capture that beauty as fully as you’d like. And that’s what art is for. Best wishes!

    • artmodel says:

      Ken,

      I’ve sometimes felt that when spring comes along, the dogwood plays second-fiddle to cherry tree blossoms, which seem to get all the glory. They’re both beautiful.

      I enjoyed reading your comments. Thanks, and nice to hear from you!

      Claudia

  6. swatch says:

    Sterkte Claudia – may your sun come out again – just like in Eva’ s painting – thank you for all the beauty – Stephen

    • artmodel says:

      Thank YOU, Stephen, for your support and kindness. Yes, I am hoping desperately that the sun comes out. Hopefully it will wash over me . . . just like in Eva’s painting 🙂

      Claudia

  7. Derek says:

    Love that song
    I miss John after all these years

Leave a Reply

