Bacchanal

May and August. Perfectly fine months for most people, but for art models, they represent dreaded employment lulls. Gaps between school semesters. Nothing to do but wait for the calls from model coordinators with new bookings. For me, this idleness is compounded with my private client, Janet Cook, having flown off to Italy for two weeks. How dare that woman leave New York, abandon her model, to go painting in Florence and the beautiful Italian countryside!

So it’s been over ten days already that I’ve had a near-empty work calendar. Lots of white boxes with nothing written in them 😥 And then, yesterday, like a blessed gift, I had . . . a booking!! Wowee!! At Spring Studio! Good old Spring Studio. Steady and reliable. A place not beholden to the constraints of “semesters” and “schedules”. Like the Energizer bunny, life drawing at places like Spring just keeps going and going and going. All day, every day. Good for artists, great for art models.

I wasn’t too rusty last night. It just felt good to be modeling, and doing short poses especially. The session was monitored by my friend Jordan Mejias, whose watercolors have appeared on Museworthy before to great acclaim. I took more pictures of his work yesterday. Quick poses again, just two minutes each. Barely enough time for an artist to capture the movement, gesture, and vague shape of the model. For those working in wash they just have to lay it down, fast! When I showed Jordan the images in my camera he said “It looks like a Bacchanal”, to which I replied, “Well with me as the model, that makes sense!”. I’ve been known to indulge in a drink or two . . . or three 🙂 But you’ll be happy to know I was not intoxicated on the model platform. I’m a professional of course. And lucky for me, I don’t need alcohol to cavort, prance, and strut my stuff when I pose.

Here are Jordan’s wash drawings from last night. Let the bacchanal begin!

IMG_1129

IMG_1128

5 thoughts on “Bacchanal

  1. Waverly says:

    Yeah, I know the feeling. Today was the last day of class for one college and the other ended last week. Trying to fill the gap with photography. Hang in there, girl.

    Take care,
    Waverly

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Waverly! We’re in the same boat. I don’t mind a couple of days off, but when it drags on, I start to miss art modeling 😥

      Filling in the gap with with photography is a great idea. Keep it up! We’ll be back to posing soon enough.

      Great to hear from you, friend!

      Claudia

  2. fredh1 says:

    Nice inkwash sketches, Jordan.

  3. Robyn says:

    If I run into Ms Cook, I’ll send her right on home!

    I discovered the Matisse link on Casey’s blog and really thought you deserved a big thanks too, for discovering the site. 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Robyn,

      Thanks so much for stopping by! Really appreciate the comment 🙂

      Janet is on her way home, I’m happy to say, and we’ll be back to work next week. Yay!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

