My New Home in Tribeca

The “new home” part of this post title is not be taken literally, folks. Anyone who does needs their head examined. An apartment in Tribeca goes for about $1.6 million, and I subsist on art model’s pay. Need I elaborate?

I’m referring, of course, to my new professional home, the New York Academy of Art, which is located in one of New York City’s most unique and appealing neighborhoods – Tribeca. Ok, so I can’t afford a 1500 square foot loft on Hudson Street. I can still pose nude down there, can’t I? Yes, I can! And I’m happy to report that so far it’s been an absolute pleasure.

My hiring at the New York Academy couldn’t have come at a more opportune time, when my places of employment were starting to dwindle due to mixed circumstances. First, I voluntarily left the New York Studio School. My decision. Then I involuntarily left the School of Visual Arts. Not my decision. Suddenly, things got a little worrisome. One of the busiest art models in the city found herself – and her appointment planner – a bit lacking. What the hell was going on? A professional rough patch. Ack! But not to worry. Enter the New York Academy of Art, rushing in like a knight in shining armor, to whisk me away, transport me downtown, console me and reassure me, and plop my nude self onto a modeling platform. In other words, “I’m back, baby!!”.

I’ve already talked about the Academy here on the blog, but I haven’t formally introduced it to my readers. Even though the weather was drab and gloomy, I took some pictures today on my lunch break that I thought you might enjoy.

Isn’t the New York Academy so special? It gets it’s own sign down in the subway on the number 1 train! Who do they think they are, Columbia? πŸ˜‰ This is the Franklin Street station:

img_0952

And there’s the name again! Emblazoned on the side of the building, looming tall and proud and conspicuous, asserting its presence to passersby:

img_0993

Across the street from the school, a typical Tribeca block:

img_0994

For those who aren’t familiar, Tribeca – more properly “TriBeCa” – is short for “triangle below Canal Street”. Outside of the city it’s probably most known for its annual film festival. Founded in 2002 by actor and Tribeca resident Robert DeNiro, the Tribeca Film Festival was conceived to revitalize the neighborhood after the September 11 attacks, an event which hit the downtown area particularly hard, and caused significant loss to businesses and residents. But Tribeca’s recovery has been nothing short of remarkable. It is now the trendiest and most sought-after neighborhood in New York City, and boasts many famous faces among its inhabitants.

img_0983

I’ve always liked the architecture of Tribeca. Most of the buildings were originally industrial facilities or warehouses which have, over time, been converted into residential spaces and high-ceilinged lofts. The New York Academy building itself was once a textile mill. Tribeca is one of the few places where you can still see classic old fire escapes on the front exteriors. I like the way they look.

Duane Park, looking lovely in the spring:

img_0974

Bread anyone? We’re on West Broadway and, lo and behold, it’s the world famous Bouley Bakery! Or Bouley Market, or Bouley something or other. Who cares, just grab a baguette and have a blast:

img_0967

Even though Tribeca is a great area for wining, dining, and nightlife, I am holding a personal grudge, one that will forever associate Tribeca with heartache πŸ˜₯ My all time favorite New York music venue, The Knitting Factory, left Tribeca for . . . Williamsburg, Brooklyn! Why? Because Brooklyn hipsters will not be satisfied until they ursurp and claim for themselves, ALL of New York’s beloved institutions. Damn those skakeboarding, L train riding punks!! But in my heart, The Knitting Factory will always be at 74 Leonard Street in Tribeca, along with all my cherished memories: hoards of sweaty, unshowered music fans, standing for hours because of no chairs, inattentive bartenders, and temporary deafness the morning after. Ah, the glory days.

At least Tribeca still has charming places for food and drink:

img_0963

img_0988

Inside our magnificent school, the New York Academy of Art. Second floor studio where I’m posing for Christopher Pugliese’s class. As the new model there, you can see I have some stiff competition πŸ˜† Man, that was corny.

img_0943

Fifth floor:

img_1020

img_1007

Fellow Academy art models, on break of course. Models love their breaks. Like, more than the average person, trust me πŸ˜‰ Coffee, talking, texting, resting weary muscles. From left to right, this is Susie, Christophe, and Kimberly:

img_0958

The school gallery on the first floor. I love the columns:

img_1002

That’s about it for now, friends. Hope you enjoyed this little tour through downtown Manhattan and it’s terrific gem of an art school, one that I am truly privileged to be working in. So far, me and and the New York Academy of Art really like each other, and I hope the love affair continues for a long time. I’m still working at my other places too, proudly and happily I might add: The National Academy School of Fine Art, FIT, Spring Studio, etc. They’ve always been there for me, and I them. But the New York Academy is ushering in a new era in my art modeling career and I’m up to the challenge. I approach it with humility and dedication, and take nothing for granted.

I’ll see you all soon! And you’ll see me in Tribeca πŸ™‚

img_0960

19 thoughts on “My New Home in Tribeca

  1. lkwinter says:

    Joy!

    I thought Tribeca was some Greek god or some borrowed name from the Balkans, I would’ve never figured it was an acronym, lol. See, you have to be a true NYer to know these things.

    Great description on the club memory, thought I felt the ghost memory of someone rubbing on my arm as I read.

    It was nice learning about how things picked up for the better after the atrocity.

    This post got read several times : )

    ❀

    • artmodel says:

      lkwinter,

      You always love my photo posts πŸ™‚ And I knew you’d enjoy this one especially.

      So now, with this little tour and inside information, you’re now a member of New York “club” (whatever that means!). You would have loved the Knitting Factory, too. One of best music venues the city has ever had.

      Downtown Manhattan has most definitely recovered from the tragic event. Your thoughts on that are most appreciated.

      Thanks, as always, for your comments.

      Claudia

  2. Brushworker says:

    Thanks! That was wonderful; school setting looks inviting, streets, buildings, park all fun to see!!

    • artmodel says:

      Rob, thank you! So glad you enjoyed it. Your observation about the school is especially accurate, as it is a very “inviting” place. Nice for an art model to work in such a pleasant environment.

      Claudia

  3. Rog says:

    Claudia…. thanks for the tour of TriBeCa…. you teach me so much… yeah… you! And now let me recover from varnishing all my paintings for my next show.

    • artmodel says:

      Rog,

      If I am such a good teacher, then you are by far my best “student” πŸ˜† Glad you enjoyed the tour.

      Now get on that varnishing!

      Claudia

      • Rog says:

        Claudia,

        I have now recovered…. and thanks for the compliment. Little know fact about… “You would have loved the Knitting Factory, too. One of best music venues the city has ever had”… They [the Knitting Factory] has another venue in LA…. plus they have owned a great venue in BOISE, IDAHO of all places and are bringing in great acts. I have seen Sonata Arctica, Filter, and Riders of the Storm.

        …rog

  4. Waverly says:

    I love the visuals. Thanks for the tour of NYC!

  5. ColdSilverMoon says:

    Great pictures!

    And congrats on your gig at the NYAA, the foremost classical/figurative art school in the world. You are among the “elite” models to be dropping your robe in their studios. It’s quite an honor to be hired there. I look forward to seeing pictures of the students’ work of you!

    • artmodel says:

      ColdSilverMoon,

      I do feel lucky to be working at the NYAA. It’s an exciting new chapter for me. Your support and encouragement means a lot, thank you πŸ™‚

      And it definitely looks like I will have some images to post fairly soon, which is great because the students down there are so talented. Some of the drawings I’ve seen of me already are amazing. So stay tuned!

      Claudia

  6. fredh1 says:

    Info for non-New Yorkers: The name TriBeCa was invented by real estate promoters, following the model of nearby SoHo (SOuth of HOuston, probably also inspired by London’s Soho district), which had been transformed from a scary slum to an artist’s neighborhood, and then to a very expensive tourist district. So now every aspiring neighborhood tries to come up with a name along those lines, including NoLiTa (North of Little Italy) to BoCoCa (Boerum Hill-Cobble Hill-Carroll Gardens), Dumbo (Down Under Manhattan Bridge Overpass), and SoBro (South Bronx). The most ridiculous one I ever heard was DuBuQuE (Down Under the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway). That last one did not catch on!

    I’m sure there are others, and I’m also sure other cities have picked up on this trend.

    Fred

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      We have joked about this so many times. I personally think it’s getting out of hand. I HATE “BoCoCa”. It’s so dumb! I know an artist who lives in Carroll Gardens and she has taken to saying “BoCoCa”.

      At first I though Dumbo was stupid too, but I’ve now taken a liking to it. It has some personality. But you’re right about “DuBuQue”. So idiotic! Thank god it didn’t take. It doesn’t even mean anything.

      You presented a great reminder about SoHo and how that neighborhood has gone through so many transformations. I remember as a kid that SoHo was nothing like it is now. Urban areas are great examples of both physical and sociological change over time.

      Thanks for your great comments!

      Claudia

      PS – How are things in Greenpoint? Or is it Williamsburg? πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  7. Ron says:

    As a longtime employee of various Tribeca based employers, please allow me to welcome you to our neighborhood.

    Also, to fredh1, Dumbo is still my favorite name, floppy ears and all.

  8. swatch says:

    Well that is a relief – thanks for the guided tour of your new home – along with tour guide humour

  9. Terrell says:

    HEY! You know Kimberly??

    I went to school with her a few years ago at Murray State taking photo classes!

    How cool. Please tell her I said hello!

Leave a Reply

