Got Your Back

I try to be a conscientious blogger. As much as I blog for my own enjoyment and fulfillment, I try to consider the varying tastes of my readers, and oblige them with due diligence. Some prefer art modeling stories and experiences, while others come for the little art history discussions. Still others favor my New York City and nature/animal snapshots, while others have become engrossed in my intimate personal disclosures. So I mix it up the best I can, so no one goes too long without getting a fix of their chosen material. It’s all good. While Museworthy can’t possibly be all things to all people, it can – and does – aim to please. Much like it’s author’s nature and personality. I am nothing if not attentive to my readers’ needs 😉

Just within the broad category of art, there are more subcategories, and I think I’ve picked up on the specific tastes of many readers. There’s the Picasso/Matisse/20th century gang, the academic figurative Art Renewal Center gang, the portrait gang, the “famous muse” followers, and those who simply enjoy drawings, regardless of era or genre.

One of my oldest and most loyal readers once expressed to me that he is particularly fond of backs. (Female backs, I presume). The back is a tragically underappreciated body part. Perhaps it has been neglected because when it comes to a female figure, people generally want to see, you know, “full frontal nudity”. The goods. Always the crowd-pleaser. But many, like my dear reader friend 🙂 , would argue that the back is far and away the most sensual and sexy part of a woman’s body.

Much to my delight, the title of this post serves two appropriate meanings – it introduces the following image for my friend, and also expresses my humble duty to all my readers. My pledge that I am, and always will be, aware and mindful of what’s happening here. From Jean-Auguste Dominique Ingres, this is Half-figure of a Bather, from 1807:

ingres-bather

16 thoughts on “Got Your Back

  1. checkmark115 says:

    i am a fan of backs, male backs of course, but never the less, backs indeed.

  2. dougrogers says:

    “the back is far and away the most sensual and sexy part of a woman’s body”

    Yep.

  3. T Preuss says:

    I totally agree the back and don’t forget necks are far the most sensual part of a woman’s body. Several of my own images are all about the female back 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Ted,

      Thanks so much for your comment! Yes, necks are a popular one. Now you’ve just gone and given me an idea for another blog post!

      I’ve seen your photographs featuring the backs of your beautiful, elegant models. They’re incredible. You know I’m a big fan of your work.

      Great to hear from you.

      Claudia

  4. fredh1 says:

    That’s a beautiful Ingres, and not one of the ones you always see. Today I was at the Brooklyn Museum and in the Atrium they have a lot of Rodin sculptures, including one of the marble Danaides. The back on that sculpture is heavenly bliss.

    Fred

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Yeah, this seems to be a lesser known Ingres. With him, it’s usually satins and intricate fabrics and commissioned portraits that come to mind.

      I can imagine the beauty of that Rodin sculpture you saw. If anyone could do a back, the always sensual Rodin would be the man.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Claudia

  5. ColdSilverMoon says:

    I see the appeal of bare backs – they can be quite sensual and alluring. But I prefer the frontal view of both sexes, especially women.

    Both the male and female torsos are far more interesting than the other side. Men have the defined pecs, the abdominals, the inguinal ligaments, the sharp angles and bulges…much more interesting than the back, IMO. Women have the breasts with their shapes and contours, the soft abdomen and graceful curves at the shoulders and hips.

    That Ingres painting is excellent, but I would take the frontal view of that lovely model any day….

    • artmodel says:

      ColdSilverMoon,

      I’m naming you “full frontal fan”. You clearly know what you like.

      It’s hard to choose, sometimes. I think it might depend on the particular nude subject. Some people have more beautiful “fronts” than others, if you know what I mean 😉

      Claudia

  6. Bruce says:

    The small of the back gets my vote, the dimples of the sacrum, the bulges of the sacrospinalis… (OK I had to look up the name of that one). Still, the shoulder blades and the way they glide under the skin…, yes the back! and so much more challenging to render in a way that can be understood than a frontal view.
    8> -8

    • artmodel says:

      Bruce,

      That was a very nice paean to the back! Beautifully descriptive. I’ve put you in the “pro-back” category. And I agree with you about shoulder blades. The way they protrude can be quite elegant. I think what’s fascinating and appealing about the back is how it combines its utilitarian and aesthetic qualities without compromising either.

      Thanks so much for your comments, Bruce. Great to hear from you!

      Claudia

  7. Jeff Wiener says:

    Here’s a wonderful “Back” back at you! One of our Sketch Sessions Videos focuses on a female model with a marvelously muscular back:

    http://www.thegreatnude.tv/Sketch_Sessions/March-2008/Asian-Female-Pose2.htm

    I agree with Claudia. Backs are amazing.

    Thanks,
    Jeff

Leave a Reply

