Toasting 200!

Cheers, everyone! And welcome to Museworthy’s 200th post!! What a trip it’s been πŸ™‚

So after 200 posts of topics ranging from art modeling, art history, my personal ramblings, cat pictures, New York stories, and a few miscellaneous, who comes in the leader of the pack? :drumroll: Appropriately, one of the great muses I’m happy to say. Yes, the number one Museworthy post is the beautiful and tragic Jeanne Hebuterne. Coming in a close second is Michelangelo and his gender issues. And rounding out the top three is my discussion about art models and their abdominals.

Although I have nothing spectacular to commemorate this blogging milestone, I can unveil a spanking new sidebar facelift. Check it out! Can you dig it? A little neater and more organized, with more categories to reflect broader interests (mine, and hopefully some of yours). I think it’s easier for everyone to navigate, and easier for me as well. So enjoy, friends!

I want to express my sincerest thanks to all my loyal readers who visit Museworthy so regularly. You have truly made this blog what it is. And shame on me for having nothing better to offer you right now except an out-of-focus, stupid selfshot I took in the mirror of the models’ bathroom at FIT. Charming. I was going to crop out the ugly toilet in the background, but I decided to leave it in, just to disabuse you of any false illusions that an artist’s model’s life is a glamorous one πŸ˜†

IMG_0907

I love you all so much. Here’s one of my favorite songs by Bob Dylan.
Hugs and kisses . . .
Claudia

30 thoughts on “Toasting 200!

  1. Ron says:

    Congratulations on your 200th Claudia! Hope to see many more in the future. The out of focus, mirror shot with the toilet in the background is terrific. It still has the one essential element in it, which is you. That’s spectacular enough.

    And I think that most of us were aware that art models used bathrooms. πŸ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      Ron,

      Thank you so much! Glad you liked the picture. You will see many more Museworthy posts in the future. I’m not going anywhere.

      Ah, yes, art models use bathrooms just like everyone else. But hiding out in them, waiting to pose, taking mirror shots out of boredom is among the less elegant moments πŸ˜†

      Claudia

  2. dougrogers says:

    Art models have their own bathrooms? Wow. What a perk!

    • artmodel says:

      Doug,

      Only at FIT, unfortunately. It’s reason enough for a model to work there! Otherwise, perks are few and far between.

      Did you like the pic I sent you? :kiss:

      Claudia

      • dougrogers says:

        Uhm… I haven’t received a pic…. and just to be sure, I scoured my spam folder.

        • artmodel says:

          Doug,

          Oh my god. I think we’re having major email issues! At least I am. I’ve written you several times, and now I suspect you never got any of them! This is awful!!!!

          I’ve received yours, and replied to the address that they came from. I sent you links to the stuff I was listening to on “Buddhist Audio”, a deer photo I took on a drive up to Woodstock, NY, a supportive friendship note, a couple of jokes, etc. Any of this ring a bell? Doug, oh no!!!!

          I did find it odd that you never responded as it didn’t seem like you to ignore my correspondence. Could you write me an email with the exact address? I could SWEAR I have the correct one.

          I’m so sorry, friend. I’m not usually an idiot of this magnitude. Forgive me?

          Claudia
          xoxoxo

  3. lkwinter says:

    ….uhmm…..HELLOOOOO!!!!!!

    (luv)

    : )

    • artmodel says:

      lkwinter,

      That is an uncharacteristically succinct comment from an articulate fellow like yourself. But I’ll take it!

      HELLOOOO to you too, baby! πŸ˜‰

      Claudia

  4. Rob says:

    You are just plain prolific!!!!! In a quality way, I mean!! I’m voting for you to be elected “The World’s Most Productive Person”. You pose, you rush, you attend to your family, friends, pets: you observe, you write thoughtful engaging (mostly, ha!) material and you keep right on doing it.
    The BD tune is one I really like, too. I associate it with a time when a girlfriend made it clear that it wasn’t going to be me in her life anymore…I thought that she “was on her own…” and that was her mistake!!!!!!!!! Ha!
    So, I have to go paint, knowing who sets the standard for pace.
    Best.

    • artmodel says:

      Rob,

      Thank you, but believe me you are WAY too generous! There’s not a chance in hell that I deserve the “World’s Most Productive Person” award. I have a real lazy side to me. And I’ve been known to do more than my share of . . . um . . . procrastinating. But if I give off a “prolific” impression, let’s keep it that way and not blow my cover. ssshhhh πŸ˜†

      Seriously, though, thanks for your incredibly nice words. You are too kind.

      Sorry about the personal association you have with the Dylan song. But, yes, it’s too bad for your old girlfriend. Her mistake indeed.

      Great to hear from you!

      Claudia

      • Rob says:

        Time heals all. Still love Dylan; can’t really remember her face…well. Not true.
        That person is right: your picture in this post is great!! And the bus idea is wonderful! Is it going to be stopping anywhere near Greenfield, Massachusetts? I would love to come to the city to draw Museworthy!!
        Bye for now.

  5. Jeff says:

    Nice picture Claudia, but what are those fabric-like coverings all over you? πŸ™‚

    Feeling any better?

    • artmodel says:

      Very funny, Jeff!! πŸ˜†

      I believe they’re called clothes. I could be wrong, but I’m starting to think you’d like to see a bit more art model skin on my blog. Is that correct??

      I am feeling much better, thank you for asking!

      Claudia

      • Jeff says:

        Actually, I come here for the articles and the witty banter in the comments, but I’d never say no to more skin.

        Very glad to hear you’re more yourself.

  6. dougrogers says:

    Hey Ik… stand in line……

  7. PADoug says:

    Claudia,

    WE know the figure model’s life is not glamourous. I actually prefer the changing screens in rooms vs going in and out of hallways in my bathrobe.

    I will say this about the picture: The contrast of your wonderfuly soft and warm face with the soapmark on the mirror is quite intersting. It gives the photo a graffitti-like quality. I believe that gives more meaning to the pains of modeling than the toilet.

    The softeness is also reminiscent of the previous Leonardo posting. I am dumbfounded that you are not the top model in New York. Why anyone would not want to spend an afternoon just drawing your face, let alone the rest of you is beyond my understanding. [I still can’t believe we are the same age! (Almost to thr same month, if memory serves me). If I asked you for a date, someone would accuse me of trying to “rob the cradle” ]

    Congratulations. I wish I could have just one drawing experince with you. Modeling with you would also of course be fun. (And not simply because you like being nude, that’s simply a very nice bonus πŸ™‚ ) The insight into artistic genres, thanks in part to you mother whom you mentioned is an artist in a previous post, and your youthful gesture/energy, would push any models skills into higher planes.

    Keep up the good work. My heart at this moment is in New York with you.

    Doug

    • artmodel says:

      PADoug,

      What makes you think I’m NOT the top model in New York? πŸ˜‰

      Claudia

      • PADoug says:

        Hon,

        You obviously are OUR top model πŸ˜‰ Reread my post. New York is with a 6 hour drive from most Mid-Altlantic and New England cities. (I could see the Model Coordinator now: “You guys rented a BUS to come draw Claudia???”)LOL

        What I meant by that was: Imelda Marcos would never get away with firing you if all the best artists knew you worked there. New York obviously needs some improvement πŸ™‚

        Keep up the great work!

        Doug

  8. fredh1 says:

    Claudia

    Out of those first 200 posts, I’m sure I learned well over 100 things I never new before and probably saw 100 artworks I hadn’t seen before. You’re bringing your voice to speak for a silent profession, and showing the world that the model is an artist too. Congratulations!

  9. fredh1 says:

    Oh, and by the way, the new sidebar/blogroll is terrific.

    Fred

    • artmodel says:

      Yay Fred!!

      With your expansive knowledge about visual arts, and so many other topics, I’m amazed that you of all people learned anything from this blog. That is an enormous compliment. Thank you, friend πŸ™‚

      And thanks also for praising my new sidebar! You’re the only one who’s mentioned it.

      Talk to you soon.

      Claudia

  10. Lin says:

    Congrats, Claudia! Here’s to the next 200 posts! Oh and I love the new sidebar too. I’ve already spent ages on the Frida Kahlo site too (she’s my favourite :-))

    • artmodel says:

      Lin,

      Thank you so much!! Glad you like the new sidebar πŸ™‚

      I’m totally with you on Frida. I’ve loved her for a long time. A definite favorite.

      Claudia

  11. Stephanie says:

    Congrats, Claudia! What a beautiful picture! You look exactly the same as when we were teenagers. Keep writing — you know I need my daily Museworthy fix.

    Love,
    Steph

    • artmodel says:

      Stephanie!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love you girl!

      Wow, if I look the same as I did all those years ago, that’s pretty good. One thing’s for sure – I still have the “teenager” in me, either in appearance or maturity πŸ˜†

      Thanks for your comment. And you can count on your continued Museworthy fix. Lots more to come!

      Claudia

      πŸ™‚

  12. ColdSilverMoon says:

    Congrats on 200 wonderful posts, Claudia! It is a joy to read your blog on a near-daily basis. I learn a lot from you and about you, and as a model I’m inspired by your work ethic and your dedication to craft. And I really appreciate all the time and energy it takes to maintain a first-rate blog. It is much appreciated by your readers. I look forward to many more wonderful posts in the future.

    And to re-iterate what some of the other guys are alluding to in their posts – you look HOT in that picture. I’m going to have to take a cold shower before I get on the modeling stand tonight …sheesh! πŸ˜‰

    • artmodel says:

      ColdSilverMoon,

      Thank you, thank you! One of my most loyal and reliable readers. So good to have a fellow artist’s model along for the ride.

      So I look “hot”, do I? :blush:

      πŸ˜›

      Claudia

  13. dougrogers says:

    Claudia, just to correct things, your mail had been caught by one of my long forgotten spam filters ( the AOL address) Things, I think, are fixed. You are not an idiot of any magnitude at all, and there is nothing to forgive.

    • artmodel says:

      Doug, excellent!! So glad the problem is solved. Now we can catch up on our lost correspondence πŸ™‚

      Claudia

      PS – I’m going to reply to your email from this morning, as a final test

Leave a Reply

