Success and Decompress

Hellooo, hellooooo!! Greetings, friends. I’m writing this post at 11:00 on Saturday night in a blurry, nebulous mental state. I have the fuzzy head. You know the fuzzy head? When your patterns are all twisted and out of synch and you’re so ridiculously tired you don’t even have the energy to make a cup of tea? I worked my first full day yesterday at the New York Academy of Art (more on that in a minute), came home exhausted, then got up early this morning to pose at Spring Studio. Short poses galore, with my hamstrings killing me. Back home again, I FELL ASLEEP around 7:00 and just woke up about an hour ago! My mind is mush and my body is sore. What the hell day is it? What time is it? Am I hungry? Do I go back to sleep? What’s going on? Where am I? πŸ˜†

So in my temporary wakefulness, I wanted to get on my blog, say hello, respond to comments, and provide all interested parties with an update on the New York Academy of Art. So how did it go? EXCELLENT!! Very, very good, I’m happy to say. What a terrific place. I arrived about 15 minutes early, all jacked up on coffee, ready to work. The instructor for the class is the amazing Christopher Pugliese, one of best contemporary figurative artists. He’s a terrific guy and I was so pleased at how well we worked together. I did a standing pose, and a challenging one at that. But it was well worth it. For a great class of students, great teacher, and great new job, how could I not give 110%? It’s my duty, and my passion. Chris and I have another six Fridays together and I look forward to each one.

Coincidentally, the topic of art model physical exertion came up in the comments of the previous post. And here I am, living that very issue. Tomorrow is Sunday. I plan to sleep late, and I do mean LATE. I’m not setting any alarm of any kind, neither buzzer nor NPR. I’m just going to let my aching body and my subconscious dreamworld dictate how long I need to stay in bed. I’m predicting it’ll be close to noon when my eyelids flutter open.

So in a brief recap: New York Academy was great, Spring Studio was great too even though I was hurting, and now I’m spent and discombobulated. Until my next post, I will be much like the model in this painting by William Etty, Nude Woman Asleep:

etty_william_nude_woman_asleep

11 thoughts on “Success and Decompress

  1. dougfromcanada says:

    Congrats for a good beginning Claudia, may you have many satisfying and fun days at your new locale.
    cheers
    dougfromcanada

  2. artmodel says:

    dougfromcanada,

    Thank you, friend!! Appreciate your good wishes.

    Claudia

  3. ColdSilverMoon says:

    Congrats on a great session! You will work with some superb instructors at NYAA, as well as some of the most gifted and enthusiastic students you’ll encounter – the true outstanding artists of the future. Assuming those difficult standing poses is tiring and stressful, but rewarding at the end when you receive accolades from the artists. I’m very happy for you! I can’t wait to hear about your future experiences there.

    It is great reading your blog – the journal of a true art model par excellence!

  4. ***Sunday hugs*** to Claudia from Josefin : )

    I loved your posting about your Father
    and about your Family.
    Wonderful picture of your Family too.

    Best, from Josefin in Sweden.

  5. PADoug says:

    Congrats Claudia!

    I was thinking the “sleeping nude”… wouldn’t it be someone romantic to have a nude male, sleepily reclining with his back against the bed rest and his head directly under hers, left hand gently holding her left hand?

    Okay okay, some maybe it’s that some of us artists like to see a bit of ourselves in artwork. I think that’s why I began transistioning into figure modeling. πŸ™‚ I enjoy being the inspiration of something interesting and beautiful. You’ve certainly done that yourself.

    Rest well, you earned it.

    Doug

  6. PADoug says:

    Opps! Not someone romantic, it’s supposed to be “somewhat romantic”. I was so busy editing the middle of the post I missed the beginning 😦

  7. artmodel says:

    ColdSilverMoon,

    Your enthusiasm and support always bolster my spirit and confidence. Thank you!

    Yes, I am very excited, and honored, to be working with such an exceptional faculty and student body at the NYAA. You can be sure I’ll be posting much, much more about my experiences there. I really want to contribute strong art modeling and, hopefully, provide a lot of artistic inspiration.

    Glad you’re enjoying the blog so much!

    Claudia

  8. artmodel says:

    Josefin,

    Thanks for the Sunday hugs πŸ™‚
    Nice to hear from you.

    People seemed to like the family pics. Maybe I’ll post more!

    Claudia

  9. artmodel says:

    PADoug,

    I knew what you meant, just a typo. Oh, it would be VERY romantic to have the male nude in the picture. You have no idea how much I’d enjoy that, in both art and real life πŸ˜‰
    But that’s a whole other story.

    I know exactly how you feel being the subject of inspiration in art. After all these years, it never gets old.

    You’ll be happy to know that I got plenty of rest. Boy, did I need it!

    Thanks for your comments.

    Claudia

  10. swatch says:

    Well, it is Monday and I hope you had a good rest yesterday. I could not help smiling when I read your post. It is so full of breezy rush, stop and sleep language – very sweet – with an illustration that lays it all to rest. Very warm.
    This blogging is an interesting world – I wondered, every now and again on Friday, how you were doing. I am glad it went well.
    Have a great week Claudia
    Stephen

  11. artmodel says:

    Swatch,

    It’s a miracle the post is even coherent! I was so groggy. I woke up, typed, and went right back to sleep. It’s a good thing I already had that image saved because I was no way alert enough to do an image search. Glad the post made you smile.

    Thanks for thinking of me, friend. Your support means a lot.

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

