Booze Muse

Well friends, the muse has a hangover. The muse misses the days when she was a devil-may-care party girl. The muse wonders when she became such a lightweight.

I went out with my friend last night. He took my arm and twisted it and twisted it and twisted it until I imbibed three gin cocktails against my will. (And if you believe that crap then I have bridge in Brooklyn I’d like to sell you 😆 ) We had great fun, though, and he was enough of a gentleman to walk my drunk ass to the subway, as I giggled and babbled nonsense all the way there. I might have pinched his butt, I don’t remember.

We went to a fabulous bar on 19th street which is reminiscent of the 1920s. Retro all the way, in everything from it’s art deco atmosphere to it’s elaborate drink menu. It’s not a place where you order a Bud Lite and watch a football game on the TV.

And of course I had to work today. Wanna know what it’s like to do art modeling with a hangover? I’ll tell you. It’s a grueling hell. Up on a platform, trying to hold still, is no situation to be in when your head is pounding and your vision is spinning. I’m just grateful I didn’t have an evening job booked. That would have meant a double – a hangover double. Oy vey!

Since I was at a Roaring 20s-inspired bar last night, it made me think of fun-loving flappers – the original party girls. Drinking, smoking, doing the Charleston, frolicking on the beach, dancing on tables a la Zelda Fitzgerald. Even in my prime I don’t think I could keep up. I found this fun, adorable video on YouTube. It’s not authentic. Instead, it’s two girls who created a grainy, flapper tribute, with dresses from a costume shop and freewheeling Charleston moves. I love these girls! This will make you smile. Enjoy while I go put an icepack on my head 😥

6 thoughts on “Booze Muse

  1. Waverly says:

    that was a cute video. hope you feel better.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Hi Claudia,

    Loved the video. Looks like something you and I might have done — and probably did, sans video camera.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    Love,
    Steph

  3. artmodel says:

    Waverly, thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. And I am feeling much better 🙂

    Claudia

  4. artmodel says:

    Stephanie,

    You are soooo right!!! Definitely something we would have done, plus a little Broadway, showtunes, and Hollywood musicals. We were pretty creative! It’s too bad for us there was no YouTube back then 🙂

    Thanks for commenting, sweetie! Glad you enjoyed the video.

    Claudia

  5. Alex says:

    I remember many nights and following mornings like that.

    I did a few years in the military (before I wised up) and spent many mornings having to stop in the middle of a five-mile run to clear the contents of my stomach on the side of the road (after a night of carousing.)

    Drinking is not my thing anymore… I limit myself to that initial buzzy-ness then I start nursing my drink. I’m usually the one to walk people to the train or drive them home. It’s my pleasure to do so- I like knowing people got home safely. I don’t mind a drink now and then but I do keep things under wraps. I do like the social atmosphere of a low-key drinking establishment and I’m happy to buy a few rounds though my own drink be lemonade or ice tea.

    I actually had to model this morning and did it on 3 and 1/2 hours of sleep. I drank a large cup of coffee before hand but it didn’t really help. It just made me need to clear the contents of my bladder half-way through the warm-up gestures. During the longer poses I found myself teetering on the edge of sleep despite the uncomfortable pose I was in (my neck still hurts!) Luckily I didn’t cross the consciousness line and slump over in the middle of my pose…

    I do have another modeling gig tonite so I will be going to take a nap after I post this comment. As hard as it is to pose when you’re tired, I can’t imagine what it’s like to do with a raging hangover! I don’t plan on trying it anytime soon…

    I hope you feel better soon!

    Best Wishes,

    -Alex

  6. artmodel says:

    Alex thanks!

    If a hangover is the worst condition to be in for art modeling, fatigue is easily the second worse. Coffee has usually worked for me, but you must have been extremely tired. And even in the most uncomfortable pose a model can still fall asleep. A sleep-deprived body doesn’t give a damn!

    Appreciate your comments. Good to hear from you always.

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

