Monday Museum Stroll

Normal visiting hours for the Metropolitan Museum of Art are Tuesday through Sunday. As all New Yorkers know, the Met is CLOSED on Mondays. Closed dammit! However, the powers that be at the grand old Met have a terrific special arrangement called “Holiday Mondays”, where they open on, well, holiday Mondays. Since so many people are off from work, the Met generously opens its doors for the entirety of the three day weekend to encourage art viewing, strolling, and provide extra opportunity for cultural appreciation. Very nice.

This past Monday was President’s Day, and even though I did not have the day off (artist’s models aren’t exactly nine to fivers) I still had a small window of opportunity to stop into the Met. I decided to pull the old “squeezing something fun in between jobs” routine. It worked out quite well actually. I had the Monday morning long pose session at Spring Studios, then a 4:00 watercolor class at the National Academy, which is five blocks from the museum. So after grabbing a quick lunch and taking the Lexington line up the East Side, I had about an hour and a half to visit the Met. I’ll take it.

I mainly wanted to see the Pierre Bonnard exhibit, but after that I enjoyed a classic Museum stroll; a delicious, aimless meander, casual and improvised, drifting wherever my spirit and curiosity took me, taking in anything that entered my field of vision, looking at people as much as paintings, and snapping a few pictures to share with Museworthy readers.

The Met lobby, looking lovely as always, getting a head start on gorgeous early spring flowers. The Met is tops with flower arrangements. While they may have the best curators, they also have the best florists!

img_0699

img_0698

The Medieval Sculpture Hall is very centrally located. You’re forced to pass through it to get to the other galleries. It’s also an area where the security guards see you with your camera and remind you in no uncertain terms “NO FLASH!!”. Yeah, I know! Geez. Now I’m not Catholic, but after walking through the Medieval Sculpture Hall I feel like I have to go to confession. Haunting, heavy, and somber, you are confronted with more versions of Mary than you can handle. This Mary is from the 1400s:

img_0677

Then it was on to the Greek and Roman Galleries, one of the most popular spots in the museum. As you can see, the Met was crowded that day. Holiday Mondays are quite the hit it seems.

img_0684

As soon as I saw this scene I knew I had to capture it. A precious group of school children making crayon drawings amid the Greco-Roman art. I was smiling as I took this picture.

img_0687

Well, hellooooo Athena! How ya’ doin’, girl?

img_0695

Torso heaven. Bodies in stone, and the people who sketch them:

img_0691

img_0693

To my non-New Yorker readers, if you are ever visiting our city, go, go, go to the Metropolitan Museum. It is our pride and joy. Better yet, if you are ever in our city and want to visit the Met, call me first and we can do “the stroll” together :-) I’d like that.

20 thoughts on “Monday Museum Stroll

  1. Stephanie says:

    This post made me cry a little. Boy am I missing the Met, the Mets and all other things New York.

  2. Amanda says:

    Oh I love the Met! It’s my favorite! Thanks for the wonderful photos!

  3. Brooke says:

    museworthy is always a wonderful read. thank you for the trip back to the Met, it was quite outstanding the first and only time I was able to visit. how I miss new york.

  4. dougfromcanada says:

    Lovely way to spend some time Claudia, nice report and pics. Will definitely let you know if I ever make it to NYC, would love to see the museum. And hey your Pres Obama took a surprise walk this afternoon in my fair city of Ottawa to get himself a “beavertail” snack and some pastries, guess he was hungry after all the political chattings. I modelled yesterday at the Ottawa School of Art which is right where he took his walk, too bad I missed him.
    cheers from here
    doug

  5. artmodel says:

    Stephanie!! No crying, sweetheart!

    I know how you feel, though, We talked about it on the phone. But no matter where you are, you are always a New York girl.

    Love you so much.

    Claudia :-)

  6. artmodel says:

    Amanda, thanks!

    Glad you like the photos. You know how great the Met is for picture-taking. I’ll definitely post more.

    Claudia

  7. artmodel says:

    Brooke,

    So wonderful to hear from you! I’m glad these pictures brought back nice memories. The Met is always the highlight of people’s trips to NYC. You must come and visit us again :-)

    Thanks for commenting!

    Claudia

  8. artmodel says:

    dougfromcanada,

    Wow, how exciting that you were right in the vicinity of of our President’s little Canadian sojourn. Too bad you missed him, but I’m sure he’ll be back. How are things at the Ottawa School of Art? Are they doing a lot of figurative work up there?

    Glad you enjoyed my little Met Museum post. I only wish I had more time for a longer stroll. Lots to see there, you know. And my pictures only reflect a tiny fraction of the art on display.

    Thanks for commenting, as always.

    Claudia

  9. ColdSilverMoon says:

    Great post and pictures! The Met is a great museum, without question one of the world’s finest. The new Greek-Roman sculpture exhibit is superb – glad you got to take it in. Isn’t seeing all those nude sculptures inspiring, especially right before a modeling session??

  10. CBrown says:

    I used to work with a special events company and had a few overnight set-up gigs at the Met. It’s really something to be able to walk through that museum when it’s completely empty (after awhile, the guards get bored following you around and just let you do what you will).

  11. lkwinter says:

    Gosh I hope you know how much I am so loving these photos, these windows into life in NY, and the art, I’m awed. These all originate from the ancient world, right? So much more amazing than my little insignificant central valley world over here..

    The invite seems strange in that, before I met you, I had actually thought of working in NY after I graduated just to discover life over there, but don’t worry, that’s a few years away. If I did, I would just shoot you an email saying “hi, I’m in NY!”

    Thank you for this post, you must know I love your little area of the universe over here. : )

  12. Ron says:

    I was once nearly thrown out of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts for taking pictures. A crazed security guard came up to me screaming that not only was taking pictures forbidden, but that I knew it was forbidden. (I didn’t.)

    I’m glad your foray to the Met went better.

  13. artmodel says:

    ColdSilverMoon,

    Yes, seeing all those nude sculptures right before going to a modeling job was definitely inspiring. The Greek-Roman galleries are fabulous, thoroughly enjoyable for artists, art appreciators, and models. Something for everyone, and timelessly appealing.

    Thanks for your comment!

    Claudia

  14. artmodel says:

    CBrown,

    Wow, that must have been so much fun! Having the Met empty and all to yourself. That’s like the art lover’s equivalent of being a kid in a candy store. Thanks for sharing that.

    Good to hear from you.

    Claudia

  15. artmodel says:

    lkwinter,

    Yes, I do know how much you enjoy these photos and my “little area of the universe” (love that!). It makes me very happy to share it and transport it over your way, friend.

    And ABSOLUTELY shoot that email to me when you decide to visit our crazy metropolis. I promise you will have the very best tour guide :-)

    Thank you for your comments, always . . .

    Claudia

  16. artmodel says:

    Ron,

    What a story! Actually, the Met is one of the few places I’ve NOT been kicked out of in my life :lol:

    The picture-taking thing can be tricky. I’m pretty sure the Met allows pictures in all of the permanent collections, but not in special exhibits. At the Bonnard show, for example, there was a sign that said very clearly “No Photography”.

    Thanks for commenting.

    Claudia

  17. swatch says:

    Wow – how privileged you are to have such an amazing facility – and you know it so well. I would love to see a post one day on your favourite Turner watercolours.

    And the children drawing is such a precious photo – very beautiful. What a massive input into a developing spirit.

    Cool to see how busy the place is as well – thanks for the post

  18. dougfromcanada says:

    Hey Claudia, sorry for the long response time, was out in BC for awhile and took a break from the internet while I was there.
    The OSA is full of wonderful people and yes very figurative. It is the only formal art school in the city and has several life drawing and painting programs for ordinary folks as well. There are also many private workshop groups that focus solely on the figure. It’s a busy arts community here and I have a fun time keeping busy.
    I better catch up on your other posts, looks like you’ve written a lot.
    cheers
    dougfromcanada

  19. artmodel says:

    Swatch,

    The picture of the children is my favorite. Glad you like it as well. It was a lovely, charming scene.

    The Met is magnificent place, no doubt about it. I’ve been fortunate enough to have been going there my whole life. My Mom often took us there when my brother and I were kids, and I’ve never stopped.

    Thanks!
    Claudia

  20. artmodel says:

    dougfromcanada,

    Welcome back, friend! Thanks for the info about the OSA. Sounds like an excellent place with great work for models. Long live figurative art!

    Thanks for your comments.

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

