Snowy Love to London

My heart goes out to everyone in southeastern England and, especially, London commuters who were pounded with their heaviest blizzard in over 18 years. We know what you’re going through, dear friends “across the pond”. I read that rail and airport services are a a standstill, 1500 schools closed, and millions couldn’t get to work.

When I visited England many years ago, I was struck by the similarities between London and New York. Both big, bustling cities, centers of commerce and culture, with nightlife, theater, and many places to get a pint! Indeed, we have a lot in common and I, like a lot of New Yorkers, felt an affinity for London that has stayed with me to this day. I have very fond memories of my trip, especially the people.

So I’d like to send out support and fellowship to my Brit friends as they deal with the severe storm. Just hang in there. This winter-weary New Yorker would also like to express solidarity and best wishes in true Museworthy fashion.

From the 19th century English painter Edward Robert Hughes, this is Heart of Snow. Now that’s what I call coping with winter!

heart_of_snow

5 thoughts on “Snowy Love to London

  1. Lin says:

    Thank you Claudia!

    Yesterday was decidedly hairy whilst travelling, but we were out in the garden late last night making snowmen, so it’s not all bad.

    Two inches of snow and the entire country grinds to a halt. We’re the laughing stock of Europe, I think.

  2. artmodel says:

    Lin,

    Glad you’re making the best of it. Gee, we’ve had a few snowfalls already and I haven’t made one snowman! I loved that when I was a kid.

    No laughing stock, not in my opinion. I know those kinds of snowfalls are rather unusual over there, right? I’d say it’s more about getting caught off guard.

    :sending kisses across the Atlantic:

    Claudia

  3. Thanks Claudia, my ponies are braving it, the Shetland doesn’t mind that much but the Appaloosa gets a bit shivery even with a special rug on. Even our Policemen have risen to the event and produced a snow “Sculpture” in their own image.
    Sorry not to be blogging much at the moment, lots of work, but I am visiting my efriends most days.
    Hope all is well.

  4. artmodel says:

    Robert!!!! So good to hear from you! I was wondering where you were. Glad you’re doing well, working, etc.

    Thanks for sharing about your ponies. I’ve always loved your Shetland. Such a cutie 🙂

    Keep checking in, and be well.

    Claudia

  5. PS I havn’t found that lovely girl in the snow yet (Hughes’), but I am keeping an eye open!

Leave a Reply

