Where’s My Backhoe?

So I get home from work tonight and see the light flashing on my answering machine. New message. It can’t be anything good or fun because it’s my home machine . . . blah. Mobile phone voicemails, now those are cool! Cool messages from cool people about cool stuff. But the home answering machine? That’s a drag waiting to happen.

Just as I suspected, the message was way creepy. It was from Washington Mutual bank, calling to inquire about a “suspicious transaction” placed on my debit Mastercard. Oh no, I thought. It must be all those kinky sex toys I bought online (JUST KIDDING!!!!!!!). Anyway, the message instructed me to call back right away because it was an “urgent” matter.

I called back and spoke to the WaMU bank representative. He asked me if I had placed an order of $4,000 to a construction equipment company in Utah. “A what?????“. Have you ever thought that something was both startling and hilarious at the same time? That was me at that moment. Unsettled that my bank card number had apparently been compromised, I was also laughing to myself that the transaction in question was for construction equipment. Read it again folks: construction equipment.

Yes, fraud has come to my doorstep. And the fraud detection system was really on the ball. It sensed right away that the spending patterns of a female artist’s model in New York City don’t generally include jackhammers, pile drivers, and backhoes. At least not four grand’s worth 😉

The nice bank guy on the phone said “I would cut that card up immediately Ms. Hajian”. So like an obedient girl, I took the scissors from my junk drawer and cut the bastard up. I’m a little creeped out! And to make matters worse, I now have a sudden, uncontrollable urge to drive a forklift.

Here’s a picture taken by Fred Hatt. It’s of me when I’m not sandblasting.

_dsc8111-22

12 thoughts on “Where’s My Backhoe?

  1. Ron says:

    Where are your boots and hardhat?

  2. artmodel says:

    Ron, those would have been great in this picture!!! 😆

  3. ColdSilverMoon says:

    First of all, BEAUTIFUL picture, Claudia. You look great, as always. Fred Hatt has taken some really nice photos of you – I think my favorite is the picture you shared a while back with legs in the air, showing off your “assets.”

    Yeah, it really, really sucks to have erroneous charges on your bank card. I had $20,000 charged to my debit card by some random company Upstate…it took us two weeks to get it cleared up, while bills went unpaid, late fees piled up, etc. You’re smart to get that resolved ASAP. From art modeling to construction – now that’s a big career change!

  4. Fred says:

    With the construction business in freefall, why would anyone want to buy construction equipment? Are you sure the receipt said “backhoes”? Maybe it was “crack ho’s”.

    Sorry.

  5. artmodel says:

    ColdSilverMoon,

    Thank you, thank you! Glad you liked the pic. Fred is great, and we’ll hopefully take another batch of new ones pretty soon.

    That one with my legs in the air was cute, but my personal favorite so far is the one I used for Museworthy’s birthday- https://artmodel.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/claudiabyfredhatt.jpg
    I’m proud of that one 🙂

    I can’t believe the $20,000 charge on your bank card! That’s insane!! What a terrible hassle you went through. This has happened to a lot of people lately; my brother, my sister-in-law, a couple of friends. Sucks.

    Thanks for commenting.

    Claudia

  6. artmodel says:

    Fred, that’s messed up!! But the rhyme is too easy, I know 😆

    You’re right, who the hell is buying construction equipment these days? Maybe Bernie Madoff, so he can dig his own grave.

    Claudia

  7. Rob says:

    I didn’t read your post!!! Tsk, tsk.

  8. eddy says:

    Hello. Newbie here. I am sorry about your bank dilemma. I hope it is straightened out. You are an art model. Pretty cool. I photograph outdoor nudes. Where located?

  9. artmodel says:

    Hi Eddy,

    Newbies are always welcome on Museworthy. Thanks for visiting!
    My bank mess is all straightened out, thank god.

    I don’t do photography except with Fred Hatt. My fine art work keeps me plenty busy!

    Outdoor nudes are beautiful, though. I’m located in New York City.

    Claudia

  10. My dear Claudia, I am a bit jealous that I didn’t photograph you 1st.
    Nice Pic, glad that u are well. I miss seeing and working with you!
    Stay well, keep up the nice work. Spoke to Jeff Sorber at the league
    he’s still doing classes, but I haven’t gotten over there as of yet.

    • artmodel says:

      Anthony!!!!!!!!!

      Where have you been??? I hope graphic design is keeping you so busy, otherwise you have no legitimate excuse for being MIA 😆

      I miss you too! It’s been a long time. But I’m really glad you posted a comment, thanks!

      Yes, I got Jeff’s email about the drawing group. Sounds fun. I should call him.

      Keep in touch please, and by that I don’t mean letting months and months elapse again!

      Claudia

  11. nash says:

    Nice pic.

Leave a Reply

