Rainy Day Sunday

Here in New York, this last day of November is a wet one. Raining steadily since this morning, the sky is overcast and dreary, the pitter-patter hasn’t let up, and rainwater is collecting, dripping, and saturating everything in its path. But the signal strength of my Direct TV dish hasn’t been affected and that’s what’s most important, right?? I mean what would we do without TV???? 😆 Actually plenty. A nutcase like me, for example, tries to take pictures during such photography-unfriendly conditions. Hey, what can I say? I was bored out of my mind. Bored being cooped up in the house, bored with chores both completed and uncompleted, and longed to be outside, raining or not.

I hoped my usual backyard critters would be there; the squirrels, the birds, the feral cats. And they were out there, all day. I saw them. Tolerating the rain, mauling the birdfeeder, digging in wet dirt, and generally going about their business. Until, of course, I emerged. Then they all scattered in a panic. It was as if they knew I wanted to take their pictures and hid from me on purpose!! “Oh shit! Here she is! Quick! Hide!”. So for my rainy Sunday snapshots, having been abandoned by the critters, I was stuck with the usual and predictable “wet leaves on shrubbery” and “raindrop closeups on twigs” routine. Hey, it’s not my fault! I wanted the flock of blue jays, but they took off. 😥

img_0411

img_0406

A withered, autumn hydrangea:

img_0436

This next picture actually has a funny backstory. Most of you know that I feed feral cats. Although most of the time I give them dry food, once in a while I treat them to a yummy can of soft food. The other day I opened a can and remembered later on that I left the can cover out in the garden. So I reminded myself to go pick it up. When I got home, I went out to retrieve the can cover but it was nowhere to be found. Oh well, I thought. Must have gotten blown away by the wind. Well, today I just happened to peer over the low brick retaining wall which runs along the edge of my property. I was looking for Monty. And there I spotted the wayward cat food can cover, dangling precariously on the edge, like this:

img_0428

Totally cool, man! That sucker is hanging by like a millimeter! Let me remind you all that I have no idea how that cover could get to that particular spot and hang in that fashion. It is nine feet away from where I left it, plus it’s OVER a wall, and then DOWN another foot. It defies the laws of physics. It’s madness! But I suspect the cats (or raccoons) are the guilty culprits.

One wet and irritated squirrel appeared high above. He seemed pretty pissed off about his condition, but I took a picture anyway. He’s not happy:

img_0409

The trunk of my favorite dogwood tree:

img_0433

And one more “raindrops on twigs” for good measure. Looks like winter ice, doesn’t it? This one’s actually very nice when clicked and enlarged:

img_0417

To close out this “rainy day” post, here’s a poem by Shel Silverstein, appropriately titled “Rain”:

I opened my eyes
And looked up at the rain,
And it dripped in my head
And flowed into my brain,
And all that I hear as I lie in my bed
Is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,
I walk very slow,
I can’t do a handstand–
I might overflow,
So pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–
I’m just not the same since there’s rain in my head.

“Rain in my head”, indeed 🙂 Ain’t that the truth!
See you all soon.

9 thoughts on “Rainy Day Sunday

  1. armen kassabian says:

    I love ur blogg, it is soo freaking cool Im sooo lucky to be ur cousin, its sooo creative and fun, and I cant believe how well you write it and really combine all your interests and those of the world on it, great job much love from armen!

    and the muse claudia has done it again, Kay was so happy to meet you, she really wants to do modeling like you!

    love armen!

  2. kay says:

    Claudia, u r inspiring me to do something challenging. I never know this job is real. I read short story about nude model before and I thought it’s not the real job. U do very special thing that I curious to know more about that.

    thank you so much to give an opportunity to talk,

    love,

    Kay

  3. kay says:

    Im so sorry that I use the wrong word..I would like to say ‘the art’s model’ but I make mistake from translation from my native langauge to English…sorry Claudia. My Englsih still struggling and need to improve.

    Much love

    Kay

  4. Annelie says:

    I love the two of raindrops on twigs. Lovely!

  5. dougfromcanada says:

    WOW – is there anything this lady can’t do????????????????

  6. artmodel says:

    Armen and Kay, hi you guys!!! 🙂 🙂

    For my other readers who might be looking at these comments, Armen is my 21 year old cousin who is in his senior year at Clark University. Kay is his totally great new girlfriend, also a student at Clark, who we all got to meet over Thanksgiving. Such a smart, down-to-earth young lady. Everyone had a terrific time.

    Armen, it was fun to see your trademark enthusiasm and jubilance here on Museworthy. Thanks for your nice words, cuz!

    And Kay, I thank you too. It was a real pleasure meeting you. I’m so happy that hearing about my work as an artist’s model inspired you so! It is work I feel passionately about, as you can tell. I’d love to discuss it more with you, especially since you express an interest. Your English is fine, by the way. What amazed me the most is how you managed to get a word in edgewise at the dinner table, surrounded my our rather outspoken and vociferous family. I’m impressed!

    Talk to you guys soon.

    Claudia

  7. artmodel says:

    Annelie, thanks!

    I would have preferred more animals, but the raindrops on twigs are “classic”, as they say.

    Claudia

  8. artmodel says:

    dougfromcanada,

    Oh yes, PLENTY.

    But I’m glad you liked the pictures!

    Claudia

  9. I thought of you and the snow in NYC so posted a picture for you. I have no idea who it is by but it looks Russian, don’t know why!

Leave a Reply

