Loving Lennon

Yet another birthday to commemorate on this blog. Seems like I do birthdays a lot here! I’ve celebrated my own, Charlie Parker’s, Museworthy’s, and now John Lennon’s. The great Beatle would have been 68 years old today. Can you believe it?

This is the way I like to think of John – having fun, acting like a kid, enjoying himself, being silly, looking super-cool in his black jacket and fedora, cavorting around New York, his beloved, adopted city. My favorite parts are him dancing around the Central Park bandshell, and feeding the elephant at the zoo. On behalf of all of us in the Big Apple, we were proud to have you here among us, John 🙂

I love this man. I really, really love him. Happy Birthday John Lennon!! Circa 1974, here he is in Mind Games:

6 thoughts on “Loving Lennon

  1. exbrun2 says:

    Happy Birthday, John.

    You’re still with us always.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Thanks, Claudia — remembering John is always lovely and remembering Central Park circa 1974 is lovely, too.

  3. Ron says:

    John was always my favorite Beatle, though I’ve always felt that his work with the fab four was superior to his solo efforts. The same could be said of the other Beatles as well, so I guess that the whole was greater than the sum of the parts. Still, he was one of my heroes in my formative years, along with JFK and RFK. Unfortunately all ultimately met with the same fate.

    Mind Games wasn’t one of my favorite songs, (Come Together was) but I do love that video. He looks almost like a pied piper leading all those kids around Central Park.

    Happy birthday John. You made the world a better place. Can’t “Imagine” it without you.

  4. artmodel says:

    Beautiful comments all! Thanks for honoring John’s birthday with me.

    Exbrun, I agree that he’s still with us.

    And Stephanie I was thinking of you the whole time I was composing the post, embedding the video, etc. I knew you’d appreciate my little tribute.

    Ron, Come Together is one of my absolute favorites! Agreed. Great song. With Mind Games, I’ve come to like the lyrics more and more. Certainly not the best Lennon song, but I do like his earnest vocal performance, and the lyric “Love is the answer . . ” Yes, he does look like a pied piper in the video! And he manages come across as both personable and charismatic at the same time.

    Thanks for the comments everyone!!! 🙂

    Claudia

  5. Derek says:

    He was personal favorite of mine and I miss the old bloke till this day 34 years later and I was fortunate to have seen him with the Beatles and his show at Madison square Garden in 1972,though the performance was not that great but he still had that magical presence, during my days with long hair and doing hard drugs which I would not recommned to all the young kids out there.

    I still listen to his music and it makes me smile and that song is my favorite. This is a song I prefer to remember on this day to remember his music not his tragic death 34 years ago.


    This is the band with “Come Together” a rarely seen video from 1969 which you see the chaps going into the studio in Abbey Road to record which I consider a masterpiece and probably better than “Sgt Pepper” record which is overrated. as Johnny would say “Come Together, right now over me”

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      “Come Together” is one of my all time favorite Beatles’ songs. Thanks for this video! I don’t think I’ve ever seen it before. I like the footage. Here in NYC the anniversary of John’s death was acknowledged as it is every year.

      Thanks again for sharing your music memories! Beatles forever 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

