Aches and Pains

After three days of denial, I now concede that I’m nursing a minor – very minor – abdominal pull. Unless it’s a tear, which I hope not. That would suck.

I know how this happened. I remember the precise moment. It was during a pose I’m doing privately for an artist. Our setup is very dramatic, challenging, and rather insane. But still I should have been more careful. I was adjusting myself in a herky-jerky way, with no support for my lower back, AND I was hanging horizontally from a pole (don’t ask!). And of course with my carelessness, I pulled it. I felt that sudden sharp, shooting pain, the kind that makes you think to yourself “Oh fuuuuck!!! That’s NOT normal!”

But this is at least a good reminder to art models, athletes, and people everywhere, that no one is invulnerable to muscle injury. No one. You can be the most physically fit, toned, in shape person on the planet, you still have to be careful with your movements and how you distribute body weight in situations of exertion. Muscles are like rubberbands, it’s true. But even rubberbands can snap and break under pressure. I posted a while back about ab strength for models, and it’s now even more appropos with my little strain. As an art model, if I had to choose between an ankle injury or an ab injury, I’d probably opt for the ankle (I’ve worked with a sprained ankle! That happened from stepping off a busted curb on Columbus Avenue). Abs are your core, literally. They are your reservoir of strength. A compromised ab muscle may not make art modeling impossible, but it will certainly inhibit freedom of movement and weaken the ability for sustained strength, such as a long pose.

In the meantime I’ll just have to cope with this not-so-serious injury. It’s located in my lower ab region (the vulnerable spot for ab pulls), on the left side, and luckily it’s not disabling me in any significant way. Although the pain is generally steady, I felt it spasm a couple of times. But I’ll live. No worries. I will have to suspend my normal exercise routine so it can heal. I wanted to go running this morning, but I decided against it. Maybe someone can just kiss and make it better? 😉

Oh, and I also have a sore elbow from banging it against a door and it hurts like a bitch. But that’s not an art modeling injury. That’s just me being an idiot klutz.

Now I have to get ready for work! Sketch class this evening. Probably no deep reclining twists for them tonight. And hopefully those good people won’t mind my face grimacing in pain. I think it makes for a beautiful portrait, don’t you? 😉

See you all soon.

6 thoughts on “Aches and Pains

  1. doug from canada says:

    Ouch Claudia, feeling your pain………………………………and hoping you feel better soon…………………………and I’ll ask anyway…………….and where do the smilies come from? Two sessions for me tomorrow, at my age I prefer only one a day but sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do.
    doug

  2. artmodel says:

    Doug,

    Thanks for your empathy, friend. I appreciate it. I did the class tonight, and all things considered, posed pretty well. No one could tell that I was in any discomfort. But I was in more pain than I had anticipated. And I have lots of work booked for the rest of the week. Not sure how this damn thing is going to heal with all this posing ahead of me. But this is art modeling, right? Working with an abdominal strain 😥

    Good luck with your double!

    Claudia

  3. If I didn’t know better, I would assume you were a wreck Claudia, heart and now body. You must look after your self if you won’t catch someone to look after you!

    BTW, how are you getting on with that little feline friend of yours? Stroking a cat can make one feel a whole lot better, though I prefer dogs and horses!

  4. exbrun2 says:

    Over the summer I did an outdoor photo shoot for a visual communications/design class. During the course of the day I walked through some saw grass which lacerated and abraded my legs pretty badly. I didn’t realize how badly until I got home that evening – I had quite a few scrapes.

    My disfigured legs probably didn’t heal to the point where the scrapes weren’t so visible for two weeks. During that time I had to model four different times… I felt kind of embarrassed at how my legs looked but I went to model anyway since I had been booked in good faith. No one said anything and quite a few artists represented my dermal injuries in their works. I was glad when the scrapes healed over.

    That’s nothing like an abdominal pull, of course, but it did have an effect on my modeling for awhile…

    Take care of those abs. May you heal quickly and completely, Muse!

  5. artmodel says:

    Robert,

    You are so sweet!!! Thank you, friend. You know, you’re right. I am a little bit of “a wreck” these days, both heart and body 😥 A little pampering and comfort would be perfect right now. Even art models need love, affection, and doting.

    Thanks for asking about Kate! I’m going to post another update about her very soon, with pictures. She’s doing better than I am! Enjoying the outdoors and running the neighborhood. Such a princess. She gets well fed every single day, by yours truly 🙂

    Claudia

  6. artmodel says:

    exbrun2,

    Thanks for sharing your story. I can relate! We art models have to present ourselves AS WE ARE- scrapes, bruises, etc. And yes, very often artists will include those imperfections in their work. I can certainly understand, though, if you felt self-conscious about your leg cuts.

    But we carry on. My ab pull is sitll bothering me 😥 Hopefully it will heal soon. Doing my best not to aggravate it, but it’s difficult in our line of work! Our bodies are everything.

    Great hearing from you, friend.

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

