My Summer Getaway

Well friends, I am off to Nantucket! It’s been far too long since I’ve enjoyed a summer sojourn. I went nowhere last year. Just languished here in the sticky city. Yuck. But the New England waters off the coast of Cape Cod are calling out my name, “Come, Claudia!! Come rest your weary art modeling muscles on our beautiful shores!”. I predict that Nantucket will return me to the Big Apple well-rested and rejuvenated, with calmness and serenity in my mind. I have my books, my sunscreen, a brand new bathing suit waiting to be broken in, and already made arrangements with a neighbor to put out food for Kate. So I am prepped and ready to go!

I’m NOT bringing my MacBook with me. It’s a vacation after all. So Museworthy will be “postless” for several days. Just letting you all know so you don’t think I’m slacking off. I’ll be back next week and will resume blogging my little butt off. And hopefully I’ll have some nice pictures to share.

So I bid you just a temporary farewell, and have chosen to honor the occasion with a painting by the American artist Winslow Homer. This painting was first exhibited at the National Academy of Design, a place I work regularly.

From the year 1870, this is Eagle Head, Manchester, Massachusetts (High Tide), oil on canvas:

Much love, and hugs, and kisses to everyone. See you soon!
Claudia 🙂

4 thoughts on “My Summer Getaway

  1. Josefin says:

    **** Claudia ****
    Wishing you wonderful and nice days
    on your vaccation and hope you are able to
    join the sun and the water and the nature’s all
    healing energy ********
    Hugs from Josefin

  2. Lisa says:

    Claudia,

    Have a great time. It sounds like a wonderful vacation!

    Hugs,
    Lisa

  3. Sheramy says:

    Claudia — Have a great vay-cay! A fun Homer ptng there. After I moved here, I learned he spent some time in the Tampa Bay area and did lovely watercolors of the coastline a bit north. He was amazing.

  4. artmodel says:

    Josefin, Lisa, and Sheramy, thanks so much for your warm vacation wishes!

    I checked my blog just before I left the house for my trip, and was able to read all your comments, although had to do it quickly. But I’m glad I did, because they sent me off with a smile 🙂

    Back home now.
    Love you guys!

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

