So How Do You Mix Your Colors?

Gabriella Dellosso is teaching a painting class at the National Academy this summer in lieu of Sharon Sprung, who’s taking a well-deserved and much-needed hiatus. I’m currently posing for Gabriella’s class, and we’ve all been having a grand old time. The pose setup is a first for me. I’m at the beach! Donning my skimpy string bikini, I sit under a colorful beach umbrella, with a beach blanket under my feet. The artists are doing a great job capturing our imaginary seaside sojourn, painting in sun, sand, and a beautiful blue horizon in the background. I’ve been joking around with the class that the only thing missing is a hot, studly lifeguard 😉 Calling all buff male art models! Please report to Studio 2 at the National Academy, and bring Speedo, ASAP!

Since I promised my readers – or threatened depending on how you look at it – that I would start bringing my camera to work so I could take snapshots of the life model’s daily environment, an idea came to me today. With the vast spectrum of bright colors offered by our pose, I noticed how dazzling all the palettes were. Gorgeous pigments squeezed out, mixed, blended, shiny and wet with oil.

The palette may be just a slab of wood, board, or glass, on which an artist lays and mixes paints, but that is according to pure objective definition. It’s much more than that, and it’s not objective at all, but highly subjective. The palette is a reflection of the artist’s overall vision of their work-in-progress, their approach to painting, and their attitude toward color. Also, the appearance of the palette mirrors the artist’s individual personality, and expresses their temperament, thought-process, and work habits. Whatever the case, palettes are like snowflakes – no two are exactly alike.

So I spent my breaks today snapping pictures of palettes, sneaking around people while they were trying to paint, erasing shots I didn’t like and re-shooting “do-overs”, and generally annoying everyone.

Margie’s palette:

Sun’s palette:

Penny’s palette:

4 thoughts on “So How Do You Mix Your Colors?

  1. Sheramy says:

    Interesting post! I was inspired to post over at Van Gogh’s Chair about how Vincent mixed *his* colors…

  2. artmodel says:

    Sheramy,

    I read it and it was great! Enjoyed it so much. I’m delighted that my blog post had something to do with “inspiring” it. Thanks!

    Claudia

  3. forestrat says:

    Love the colors in these photos – especially where they smear and blend together.

    When I’m out taking photos in the forest, the color of a scene is often what first draws my eye – deep green moss on a fallen tree, iron stained stones in rich browns, blue sky reflected in the surface of a stream.

    I can appreciate a good black and white photo, but I can’t take one to save my life. I gotta have some color.

    Keep taking those photos.

    MDW

  4. artmodel says:

    Forestrat,

    I’m so glad you liked the colors in these photos. I had fun taking them. Your color descriptions of nature were beautifully vivid too, just the the images you post on your blog.

    I love a great black and white photo also. Many of the great famous photographs were black and white. But I know what you mean – there’s nothing like color!

    I’ll definitely keep taking more. Thanks for the support and for commenting!

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

