Friendship, Blogging, and the Art of Motherhood

Six months ago, a surprise appeared in my email inbox, from a sender I didn’t recognize. I opened it, and it turned out that the words within were heartwarming, touching, and uplifting. By the time I got to the end of it, my eyes were filled with tears of joy, my heart overflowing with fond remembrance. What brought about such an emotional response? A note from a dear old friend. A note 20 years in the making. A note from Stephanie.

We met in the 7th grade, at PS 216 in Queens, and became fast friends. The best of friends. We shared many interests, possessed similar talents and academic aptitudes – we were both A students. We came of age together, in the 1980s Reagan Era, from adolescent girls into mature young women. It was a transformative time, and we witnessed it all together, the good and the bad.

I could recount all my recollections of mine and Stephanie’s friendship, and while it would delight me to do so, and bring many a smile to my face, I won’t. The rest of of my readers would have to know both she and I personally to fully appreciate it. Plus, a lot of it is between me and Steph. But because I can’t resist, I will mention that both of us were obssessed with Duran Duran (hey, as far as I’m concerned, they’re still cool!), excelled in Mr. Cusimano’s English class (where it seems we always were), got the “pre-Beverly Hills Cop” Eddie Murphy’s autograph after a live SNL broadcast, and were die hard Met fans. This was back in the early 80s, mind you, which was the depressing dark ages of that franchise!

Although we attended different high schools, Stephanie and I remained friends. Then we drifted apart in college, largely due to my stupid decision to go out of town, to a shitty school I ended up transferring out of. In a few years, Stephanie and her family moved to Florida, and sadly, we lost contact for the rest of our adult lives. Until now.

Thanks to some creative, persistent Googling on Stephanie’s part, she found me through Museworthy!!! And we are reunited as friends. Our regular emails over these past several months have been nothing short of delightful. And fun! I look forward to all our exchanges. And it couldn’t have come at a better time, because Stephanie just gave birth to beautiful triplets! Words cannot describe the happiness I feel for her, her husband, and her whole family – a loving, close-knit one much like my own.

If there is any woman who can handle raising triplets while maintaining her sanity, it’s Stephanie. She is an immensely capable person, responsible, compassionate, down-to-earth, funny, and smart. She was a “multitasker” before that term was ever coined. Anything Stephanie chooses to do, she does well. She is up to the challenge of three newborns, I have not a shred of doubt about that. Even now, with her hectic life, she still manages to read Museworthy on a regular basis. She rocks! I want to tell her, right at this moment, that I love her and respect her very much, and am so thankful that we are communicating again. It’s augmented my feelings about many things, magnified my perspective of life, and even made me a better blogger! (Stephanie, by the way, would make a fantastic blogger. Should she ever decide to start one, I will support her with great enthusiasm. She’s insightful, witty, perceptive, and an excellent writer. That would be a must-read blog!)

To honor Stephanie, I decided to post three images of work by the American Impressionist, Mary Cassatt. Why three? One for each triplet of course! Cassatt is famous for her sensitive paintings of mothers with children, and for conveying the tenderness of maternal love. And what makes a better muse than the vulnerable, trusting eyes of a child? These are exquisite pastels, done between the years 1889 and 1900. I hope Stephanie sees a little of herself in these works, along with all the emotions she’s feeling these days.
From me to you, dear friend ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Friendship, Blogging, and the Art of Motherhood

  1. Stephanie says:

    It is 4:20 in the morning and it’s my shift to feed the triplets. I took advantage of a few quiet moments to visit Museworthy and am honored and incredibly moved to see this posting. The Cassatt pieces are beautiful. I have seen her work many times in the past, but it has completely new meaning for me now. Your writing and her images have left me teary-eyed.

    Claudia, you’re the best! Thank you so much. As you know, I absolutely love reading Museworthy and I love you.

    Steph

  2. artmodel says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Good luck Stephanie. My number four is about to go off to University so after 28 years of parenthood we will be on our own again it will take time to get use to. Make the most of it though because it goes by so quickly. Take lots of photos and video they are so precious to you and them and their children! If you can persuade a good painter to paint a portrait of them one day that would be good too, start saving now!

    The internet ‘sure has’ its uses!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Thanks, Robert. We take lots of pictures, but I love the idea of a portrait! I wish I had a painting of myself (Claudia is so lucky!) — but the caricature from Disney World will have to suffice.

    Good luck with your empty nest — I’m sure it will take some adjusting but it will have its own rewards.

    Stephanie

  5. Sheramy says:

    What a lovely post! We must be about the same age…omigod, I LOVED Duran Duran, like totally!! I was a Nick girl, with Simon in close second. My sister and I went to see them a couple of years ago when they toured and screamed like teenagers!

    (Hi Stephanie…Congratulations on your triplets! Good fortune to you!)

    Sheramy

  6. artmodel says:

    Sheramy,

    Oh yeah, Duran Duran were awesome!! Stephanie was a Nick girl, I was a John girl, and we both loved Simon too. He was soo hot back then ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you enjoyed the post!

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

