Five Centuries of Women in Art

Women, women, women. Can’t live with them, can’t create great art without them. Right guys? 😉 If you don’t believe me, watch this fantastic video that has been viewed millions of times on YouTube. A beautiful montage, it covers 500 years of famous female portraits and portrait details from the great works. See how many you can recognize. I did ok, but was stumped on a few. I see Botticelli, DaVinci, Raphael, Durer, Ingres, Manet, Renior, Matisse, Picasso. Hey, wait a second! How come I’m not in there?? Dammit.

I’m surprised Vermeer isn’t there. And Madame X is missing!! Oh boo hoo!!! Now my whole weekend is ruined! (sarcasm, folks). Would like to have seen Frida though. That’s an oversight I sincerely miss. And Degas would have been nice too.

But who cares. The video is creative, inspired, and lovely to watch. So enjoy “Women in Art”! 

6 thoughts on “Five Centuries of Women in Art

  1. Stephanie says:

    It’s the dark-haired beauties that really shine through. Don’t you think?

  2. artmodel says:

    Stephanie, oh yes! You know it 😉 The redheads also have distinct qualities that I think make them stand out. But I’m with you on the brunettes. We rock!

    Claudia

  3. Philip says:

    Glad you like my work! Sorry about the exclusions.

    Philip

  4. artmodel says:

    Philip,

    I LOVE your work! The video itself is a work of art. It is even more beautiful with each viewing.

    Oh, don’t worry about the exclusions! It only speaks to women’s immense popularity and significant role in art, and our primacy as artistic subjects. Makes me proud!

    Thank you for creating the video. You are brilliant! I will be looking for any future videos you post and so generously share will all of us art lovers. And thanks for visiting Museworthy! The Women in Art embed looks great and is so appropriate for this blog, as you can see.

    Thanks for writing, Philip! Great to hear from you.

    Best,
    Claudia

  5. Anne says:

    Smashing work with the video – this would be a fantastic screensaver!
    Enjoy your blogs -thanks for the great work!

  6. artmodel says:

    Anne,

    Yes, the video is marvelous, and you’re right, it would make a great screensaver! Although I surely deserve zero credit for the video itself. That talented individual is Philip, who posted a comment above. I was just lucky to have embedded it properly!

    Thank you for your kind words about the blog. I’m so glad you enjoy it. That’s really nice to hear 🙂

    Hope you keep reading, Anne. Lots more fun ahead on Museworthy!

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

