Back in the Nude Groove

Hi everybody! Well, life is normal again, “normal” meaning very nude, all day, in front of people who are staring at you for hours on end, examining every contour, shade of color, and anatomical feature of you in your spanking birthday suit. In other words, I’m back to work. Yay! Summer sessions have begun, and art models can return to their jaded nakedness, crummy paychecks, scheduling confusions with model coordinators, voice-mail checking and text messaging filled breaks, obscene coffee consumption, lateness, poor room temperature control, demanding instructors, aching muscles, and semi-permanent nerve damage.

Oh, I’m just having fun with some of the quirks of my profession. You all know how wholeheartedly I love art modeling, warts and all. Although I worked a little over the break – managed to score a few jobs around town – the steady work has finally begun. For me, the re-initiation comes in the form of the New York Studio School’s famed two-week Drawing Marathon. Always an experience. The National Academy has resumed classes too, and my first booking there is this week as well, for Nicky Orbach’s Thursday painting class. Love her. Love her students. Looking forward.

I thought I’d honor the official return to full time art modeling with this great video I found on YouTube. It is a collection of fantastic life drawings by Australian artist Steve Irons. I was especially attracted to them because they are mostly quick sketches done from 1 – 3 minute short gesture poses – my personal favorites to perform as an art model. They’re fascinating to look at. Hope you enjoy them!

3 thoughts on “Back in the Nude Groove

  1. I have often thought how on earth would I go about trying to persuade someone to sit for me if I thought they were the perfect model? All the awful nightmares of boyhood return, memories of the agonies of asking a girl to dance for example but one argument that I could use is that one would immortalise perhaps not the soul but the body, and within it capture at least a tiny essence of the magic of personality in bronze or marble. Your profession has a hope that amongst the many students that put pencil to paper, oil to canvass or clay to hand at east one of them will surly immortalise you. Here you will join the ranks of great and good which adorn the walls of our museums: but you will be viewed with affection by all and the eyes of the many will linger longer and without the need to think of an historical interest but one of aesthetic pleasure.

  2. artmodel says:

    Robert,

    That was beautifully stated. Thank you for it.

    I often think about my being “immortalized” through my posing. It can be an overwhelming thought, but thrilling as well. Like you said, it is at the core of this profession.

    Wherever a painting or drawing of me hangs, I hope it is viewed with the “affection” you say. In my case, that would be perfect, because my own affection for the work and the people I work with, runs deep.

    Thanks again for your inspiring comment!

    Claudia

  3. suzanneme says:

    I always wondered how one got a job as a model. I would have so much apprehension of having so many eyes seeing all the flaws. Though, as someone who has taken drawing courses with nude male and female models, the flaws only add to the beauty of the person.

Leave a Reply

