Back in the Nude Groove

Hi everybody! Well, life is normal again, “normal” meaning very nude, all day, in front of people who are staring at you for hours on end, examining every contour, shade of color, and anatomical feature of you in your spanking birthday suit. In other words, I’m back to work. Yay! Summer sessions have begun, and art models can return to their jaded nakedness, crummy paychecks, scheduling confusions with model coordinators, voice-mail checking and text messaging filled breaks, obscene coffee consumption, lateness, poor room temperature control, demanding instructors, aching muscles, and semi-permanent nerve damage.

Oh, I’m just having fun with some of the quirks of my profession. You all know how wholeheartedly I love art modeling, warts and all. Although I worked a little over the break – managed to score a few jobs around town – the steady work has finally begun. For me, the re-initiation comes in the form of the New York Studio School’s famed two-week Drawing Marathon. Always an experience. The National Academy has resumed classes too, and my first booking there is this week as well, for Nicky Orbach’s Thursday painting class. Love her. Love her students. Looking forward.

I thought I’d honor the official return to full time art modeling with this great video I found on YouTube. It is a collection of fantastic life drawings by Australian artist Steve Irons. I was especially attracted to them because they are mostly quick sketches done from 1 – 3 minute short gesture poses – my personal favorites to perform as an art model. They’re fascinating to look at. Hope you enjoy them!