Aviva Stone

The New York art community has lost a very special muse; the one and only Aviva. Friend and inspiration to many, Aviva was a prominent, charismatic presence, and there is hardly an artist in our area without a sketch or drawing of Aviva in his/her portfolio.

I’m glad I knew Aviva. My most special memory of her is when I was working the long Saturday night drawing session at Spring Studios. Desperate to add an interesting detail to the pose, I put a big red flower in my hair that I bought from the deli across the street. Aviva was there that night, and we talked during the break. I asked her about the flower, and she said warmly, “You look great up there! Just do what you do. People respond, that’s what it’s all about”. Her comments bolstered my confidence and validated my work. When I went back up to the platform to pose again, Aviva winked at me, and I felt good.

We have lost Aviva in life, but her modeling lives on forever, as subject and muse to countless drawings and paintings of so many artists for so many years.

Here’s Aviva by Fred:

aviva-with-hat.jpg

8 thoughts on “Aviva Stone

  1. To All those who join us in mourning the loss of this wonderful muse and model- the Art Lab, an independent school of fine and applied arts located on Staten Island, Art Lab invites you to view the Aviva Stone Memorial Exhibition, on view in our hallway gallery until January 27. The Art Lab is located at 1000 Richmond Terrace in Snug Harbor Cultural Center. An opening reception for the exhibition will be held from 2-4pm on January 13. Our phone is 718-447-8667. Also, on January 26, from 3-5 pm, we will gather to share stories and rememberances of Aviva in celebration of her life. While this exhibition is on view, the Art Lab will be accepting donation towards a gravesite memorial for Aviva. Please call us with questions or if you need directions. Aviva, darling- you are loved and you will be missed! With love, Malissa Priebe – executive director, Art Lab, Inc.

  2. artmodel says:

    Malissa, many thanks for the information and your heartfelt comments. Sounds like you’re planning a wonderful tribute and celebration of Aviva! I will post the information again on my Events and News page.
    Best,
    Claudia

  3. Cindy Klumb says:

    I knew Aviva not just as a model but a friend. She was one of a kind, “Grand Dame”, “Diva” and “Muse” all rolled into one. When she entered a room all eyes turned toward her and the magnificent energy with which she filled the room. At Pratt, she threw herself into every pose, and every role she played on her stage – the model stand. Even though she would always be late, she never left the class wanting and would receive applaus at the end of the session. She was also my friend, my sister and I was blessed for knowing her.

  4. artmodel says:

    Cindy, what a wonderful, sensitive, and perfect description of Aviva, both the person and the model. She is irreplaceable. The students at Pratt are lucky to have worked from such a respected, experienced and beloved artists’ muse. Thanks so much for expressing your thoughts and comments here at Museworthy. They are most appreciated, by both myself and my readers.
    Best,
    Claudia

  5. It am so glad to have met Aviva. She was a person with a great heart and a good friend of mine!
    I will miss her a lot!
    R.I.P.

  6. Doug says:

    Thanks for sharing these great ideas. I’m bookmarking this for future reference. Some of these I already do, so the point resonated most strongly with me. Keep feeding the creativity.
    I am currently on holiday so, for this reason, I’ve nothing better to do than surf the web for art, lie around and update my blog. Well, more or less anyway.
    Doug C

  7. alex says:

    I remember Aviva she was great to work with . It was back in my FIT days back in the 1990’s, I remember seeing her at professor Collier’s class in photography although she was full dress and she has this bigger than life presonality and very much like in the Mama Cass form so full of life and never shy away from anyone. She was a tall big woman and was always very encouraging to us to be what we are.

    I have drawn her robst physique and she was great and very graceful and a unqiue aura about her. I graduated in 1999 and I had fond memories of her and have drawn her in the past and I still have my archival pictures of her in my illustration classes. God bless her where ver she is.

  8. CJCanary says:

    Oh my, sad news. I had the pleasure of working with Aviva many times, when I studied art in NYC (1990’s). She will be missed. Her likeness continues to be a favorite of mine and those that look at my art decades later.

Leave a Reply

