Rodin the Model Man

“I can only work with a model. The sight of human forms nourishes and comforts me.”
– Auguste Rodin

If the above statement doesn’t communicate beautifully the value and essence of my profession then I don’t know what words could. I’m all choked up. Thank you, Auguste!

When I was searching for an image to accompany this quote, I came across this incredible drawing by Rodin. I was going to post a sculpture picture, since Rodin is known predominantly as a sculptor, but this drawing of the Roman goddess Minerva stirred me the instant I laid eyes on it. It also reminded me of a discussion I once overheard while posing for a sculpture class at the Art Students League. The agreed-upon conclusion was that sculptors do superb life drawings. Granted, the discussors were all sculptors themselves. But if this drawing by Rodin is any indication, then their consensus is dead-on accurate.

rodin_minerva.jpg

One thought on “Rodin the Model Man

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt“I can only work with a model. The sight of human forms nourishes and comforts me.” – Auguste Rodin. If the above statement doesn’t communicate beautifully the value and essence of my profession then I don’t know what words could. … […]

Leave a Reply

