Heaven and Hard Times

So it looks like this summer is going to be worse than last summer, and I didn’t think that was possible. Last summer sucked majorly for a couple of reasons; painful breakup with the boyfriend which still hurts over a year later, slow art modeling, and no vacation. This summer adds a new element of tension and troubles in the form of intra-family strife that only seems to get worse by the day. Isn’t that fantastic? The hits just keep on comin’. Ugh.

Coping mechanisms? Same as always. Hunker down among the good. Jettison the bad. Cling for dear life to that which gratifies and gladdens and edifies. Oh yeah, and blogging. Keep blogging :-) Art and music are two of the best pathways to salvation, I think we can all agree on that. And I’ve got one of each to offer today. A striking linocut print of yours truly by the wonderful Christian Johnson, followed by music for Music Monday. Gospel is a dependable source of solace for me as most of you know. The track is “I’m So Glad (Trouble Don’t Last Always)” by Sam Cooke and the Soul Stirrers.

A belated Happy Father’s Day to my dad readers. Hope you had a great day! I’ll see you all very soon, friends. And Christian … thank you :-)

IMG_6431

15 thoughts on “Heaven and Hard Times

  1. Dave says:

    Claudia,

    I’m sorry to hear of the family strife. I know how tough that can be. I hope lots of great sessions, like the one that produced that Linotype, help take your mind off of the problems.

    And thanks for the Father’s Day wishes (and for the advice I put to good use at the figure drawing marathon on Saturday)!

    Dave

    • Dave says:

      Whoops, I meant “linocut,” not “Linotype.” I hate autocorrect.

      • artmodel says:

        Dave,

        I hate autocorrect too! Thanks for all your comments, especially your empathy about family friction. It’s tough when you love everyone involved and don’t want to take sides.

        So glad to hear about the drawing marathon success! Always a memorable art modeling experience.

        Claudia

  2. Bill says:

    Beautiful linocut — a “thank you” to both artist and model for sharing that. And the Sam Cooke track was also great, thanks.

    I think part of the problem is that there’s not much you can actually do to directly address some of these issues. You can’t make people love one other — I know, I’ve tried. All you can do is address the issues whose outcome you can influence, even though that limitation can be extremely frustrating. And, if all else fails, there is art and music — and Boethius:

    Take care.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Thanks for the clip! I haven’t seen 24 Hour Party People. I hear it’s good.
      Thanks also for your thoughtful advice. Spot on. I’m just hoping and praying things get resolved. Our family is small but has always been tight-knit. I really want it to stay that way.

      Claudia

  3. Grier Horner says:

    Love the print. You are a great model.

  4. Thanks for a great session Claudia. Already working on a few new pieces. Best to you, and thanks for sharing the linocut.

    • artmodel says:

      Christian!!!! It was great session indeed. Always a pleasure :-)
      I look forward to seeing your new work.

      Enjoy the summer, and thanks for posting a comment!

      Be well,
      Claudia

  5. cauartprof says:

    Claudia,
    Sorry to read about your summer blues but could see this post coming from reading a few of your tweets. You have done an amazing thing by creating an extended family through your online presence. I hope you can find solace and comfort within yourself. Those of us that follow your blog regularly hope that you reap some positive energy from all of our good wishes. You are a remarkable person.

    By the way, you know I love the print and the pose. Many thanks to you and Christian for sharing your gifts.

    Chris

    • artmodel says:

      Chris,

      I absolutely reap positive energy from the best wishes and kindnesses of my readers, no question about it. It’s one of the motivations for me to maintain a quality blog as best I can.

      I knew you’d like Christian’s print. You are of course a wonderful printmaker yourself!

      Thanks so very much for your warm comments.

      Claudia

  6. Stephen says:

    Your resolve and tenacity is inspiring as always and of course your postings are just so fresh and wise (o: – look after yourself

    • artmodel says:

      Stephen, thank you! How nice to hear from you.
      Looking after myself is something I should do a little better.

      I appreciate your kind words. Hope you’ve been well!

      Claudia

  7. Jim O'Neil says:

    If you can’t get out of Dodge for a bit Claudia ( in my opinion, nothing helps more than a change of venue to change one’s mood and regain perspective) then perhaps some sublimely ridiculous music might help. Have you heard of the Leningrad Cowboys? : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8SiTInbjjw

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      Omg, I can’t stop laughing at those hairdos! And those suits! Never heard of these guys before. Thanks! It’s entertaining, and, as you said, “sublimely ridiculous” :lol:

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

