Deep Freeze

I guess it was too much to hope that 2014 would begin, by some miracle, with a spa day, a soak in a jacuzzi, or a plane ticket to the Bahamas. Instead it dropped a blizzard and sub-zero temperatures across much of the United States. Well, it is January after all. And it is cold, man. Like -14 level of cold. Brrr!

Of course, not one group of guys came knocking on my door to offer snow removal. The only able-bodied young men who trudged down my street today were carrying sleds not shovels. I probably should have joined them! But no, I did the shoveling all by myself. Normally I don’t mind the exertion and exercise but I think I have shin splints or something in my lower right leg, and it kinda hurts. Years of full time art modeling catching up with me perhaps. It’s all those long standing poses! Okay, maybe not.

Anyway, here’s a little art to kick off the new year. It’s a snow scene by George Wesley Bellows, an artist who had a great talent for painting snowy landscapes and cityscapes. Oh sure Bellows was good at painting snow, but did he shovel? :lol:

George Wesley Bellows, Winter Afternoon, 1909:

George_Bellows_Winter_Afternoon

I hope you’re all keeping warm and staying safe where you are. If you’re in need of some reading material, check out my friend Daniel Maidman’s latest piece on the Huffington Post. I don’t know if I’m fully worthy of his incredibly kind and unstinting praise, but I’m very honored that he discussed me and the Museworthy Art Show in his piece. Other elements of his superb art exploration include John Singer Sargent, Dorian Vallejo, and our good friend Fred Hatt.

Cheers everyone! And Happy New Year! :-)

14 thoughts on “Deep Freeze

  1. Jennifer says:

    It’s unseasonably warm here still, though very wet and stormy. Love the snowy painting. Wrap up warm as you hurry from assignment to assignment :)

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Luckily my assignment-to-assignment schedule doesn’t kick in for another week. Maybe it will be even colder by then! I’m thoroughly jealous that you’re having unseasonably warm temps over there. Enjoy it in spite of the wet!

      Thanks for commenting, and Happy New Year :-)

      Claudia

  2. Bill says:

    I’ve decided that I’m taking the wrong approach to this Winter/snow business. Like most people, I have an alarm clock that wakes me up in the morning. What I really need is an alarm calendar — instead of waking up every morning, I’ll simply set the alarm calendar for April 4th — Opening Day at Fenway Park! (Actually, maybe April 3rd — give me a chance to catch up on any Museworthy postings that I missed in the meantime :-)

    BTW — regarding Daniel Maidman’s blog posting — you deserve the accolades. You were both the inspiration and the hostess for that art show — you made it happen. And it’s evident that you’ve been “making it happen” for the artists in NYC and your Museworthy readers for some time — so you deserve the recognition.

    Now if we could only get you up to Boston. . .

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I like your approach to winter. Count me in! Let’s hibernate :-) And it seems like you folks up in Boston get it worse than us. I feel your pain.

      Thanks for your kind words about Daniel’s piece and his statements about me. My attitude is that I will always try to live up to those words.

      Claudia

  3. Derek says:

    I sympathize about it , I used to live in NY right after my divorce I know it can be freezing especially in the season but NY is a lovely place and very luxurious and the museum of Modern Art my favorite place to visit. Right now is 73 degrees in Australia. This will pass with the freeze. Time pass my dear not to worry God is on your side.At least you have your health, your family and the job you love most.

    On a positive note I really had a blast with the Museworthy art project and your mate Mr. Maidman wrote very positive things about you which I totally agree you are very beautiful and dynamic poser , your reclining poses and other elegant poses have been the most statuesque may I say. You have done a great job inspiring us artists. I hope we do this again as a sequel to this. I hope you have more dynamic poses to post on this blog so we can begin to study and illustrate. and mostly your knowledge of the history you have given us….Next week I will be 65 god I feel ancient….

    Happy New Year Mate……

    Derek James Tewey
    Brisbane, Australia

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I am consumed with envy at the 73 degrees in Australia! A far cry from what’s happening here, as we now have to brace ourselves for the “polar vortex” or something.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the Museworthy Art Show! And yes we will definitely do it again. Thanks, as always, for your generous comments and warm spirit. And happy birthday!!

      Claudia

  4. Elaine says:

    Derek, I wish you an early Happy Birthday. I wish I was 65 again. I refuse to let a number determine how I live my life. I’m healthy, have a wonderful family, live in a great city even with the snowstorms and
    preparing for a one-woman art exhibit later this year. The Museworthy art show was a success. Claudia did a wonderful job with her inspiring photos by Fred Hatt. I loved the painting you submitted. Keep creating
    art. It makes our lives so much richer. Again, Happy Birthday from New York. You’re not ancient, just starting another chapter of your life.

    Best regards, Elaine

    • Derek says:

      Thank you so much Elaine
      You are one gem. I too love your piece with the pastels you did on your lovely child. She is such an inspiration to us artist. I also love Daniel’s oil painting as well. I was especially blown away by the colors you brought to Claudia’s shape and the study is incredibly done with great illusions.

      I am forever grateful of your daughter and she is a very intelligent young lady and such a passionate person . She also was great at what she does and she is such a dynamic and graceful model/ You are one tremendous gift and I never knew she had a mum who is talented and I wish you great success in your exhibition you should include this piece of her in your art exhibition. You both make a great team in collaboration. I have nothing but great respects and god bless you that you are still here in this earth and being the fine artist you are and a great mum of two talented people in your life.

      Thank you so much for your advice and wishes after all its a new chapter

      Cheers mate

      Derek

  5. Grier Horner says:

    You use of that great George Bellows painting prompted me to look up others he painted the same year (1909) and run eight of them on my blog http://www.grierhorner.com/blog.html . There was a lot more to him than paintings of boxing.

    • artmodel says:

      Grier,

      Nice job with the blog post! Bellows’ works look amazing the way you presented them. He really was a great painter and yes, much more to him than the boxing theme. I saw the exhibit at the Met last year. It was incredible to see his technique and brush strokes up close, especially on the landscapes.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  6. cauartprof says:

    I agree with Grier and Jennifer. It might be cold up in NYC but that Bellows painting is “smok’in”! Fabulous energy in those brush strokes. Thanks, Claudia, for sharing another painting gem. Stay warm!
    Chris

    • artmodel says:

      Chris,

      Thank you! It is a great piece by Bellows. I hope everyone clicked and enlarged the image to view it better.

      I will keep warm, and I hope you do too as it seems this frigid monster is reaching far and wide!

      Claudia

  7. Jim O'Neil says:

    Complain, complain, complain, I kindly share and send a little bit of my Alaska weather to you to assure you have a white New Year’s, leaving me to struggle through a sweltering +6 degree heat wave and you don’t appreciate it! :-)

    Stay warm and stay well, Claudia!

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      I was expecting a smackdown tease from you about the cold weather! Yes, we’re kind of wimpy I guess, compared to you Alaskans of course.

      Thanks for your fun comments, and you stay warm too friend! :-)

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

