Doughboys on Fifth

I should probably regard it as a positive sign that the museums of New York City are inundated with people these days, locals and tourists alike. Flocking to see art is clearly a wonderful thing, except when it screws up your plans! Yesterday, I attempted to see the Dutch Masterpieces exhibit at the Frick. But when I arrived, the line went around the block and the wait was estimated at an hour. I stood on the line for a while, but when we hadn’t moved an inch in 15 minutes, I realized I wouldn’t have enough time to see the show and still make it to midtown in time to meet my niece and my mother as planned. So I bid farewell to the Frick and busted out of the line. But I shall return. I’m not done with you yet Frick! Vermeer ain’t leaving this city before I can take in his magnificence, that’s a promise :-)

New York City being New York City, passing through the doors of a museum and paying an admission fee is not required to view art or objects of interest. Such things are all around us. Museum plans scrapped, I strolled down Fifth Avenue on that sunny Saturday afternoon. Within three blocks I was met by the 107th Infantry Memorial at 67th Street. Erected in honor of New York’s Seventh Regiment which fought valiantly in France during World War I and saw heavy casualties, the bronze sculpture sits a top a huge 25 foot wide granite base.

IMG_5981

The designer and sculptor of the piece, Karl Illava, served in the 107th as a sergeant and was able to draw from his own firsthand experience with the horrors of war and the brotherhood of an infantry division. The inscription is prominent and very nicely done.

IMG_5990

This powerful war memorial rightly draws stops from passersby. With art museums to the north and high end department stores to the south, the 107th Infantry Memorial stands tall along Fifth Avenue, a formidable presence of courage and sacrifice.

IMG_5993

See you all in 2014!

14 thoughts on “Doughboys on Fifth

  1. Dan Hawkins says:

    Have a happy new year, Claudia!

  2. Bill says:

    Happy New Year! And here I thought that all of your “dough” boys worked on Wall Street :-) Seriously, this is a beautiful sculpture — thank you for calling my attention to it. I’ll have to check it out when I get the chance.
    P.S. And best of luck with the Frick — I think that you can get timed entry tickets online? https://www.insiteticketing.com/Frick/OBO/show.aspx?reset=1&prodID=9850

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I think the timed ticket approach might be a good way to to go. Thanks! And yes, check out the sculpture next time you’re down here in NYC. It’s impressive.

      Happy New Year!

      Claudia

  3. scorpioski says:

    Claudia,
    Best of everything to you in the coming year!
    Thanks for this latest post. Your writing never fails to engage & almost always transports me.
    As a veteran of various infantry regiments ( 1/327th, Bastogne Bulldogs/ 1/87th etc.) that statue speaks loudly to me, despite the many decades betwixt our timelines.
    How cool that the sculptor was himself a member of said regiment.
    Wonder when the piece was planned and conceived and ultimately dedicated…
    I appreciate as always coming along on your journeys in my vicarious way.
    Affectionately,
    Paul

  4. Rob says:

    Happy 2014 to you, leader of the musedom!! BTW the show is brilliant and although I missed it this time around I hope there will be another opportunity. Still wanna work off one of your samples to please don’t take them down. Best.

    • artmodel says:

      Rob,

      We missed you in the show but I’m so glad you enjoyed it! And don’t worry, nothing will be taken down :-)

      Thanks for commenting, and a very Happy New Year to you!

      Claudia

  5. Dave says:

    Claudia,
    I just saw and very much enjoyed Daniel Maidman’s story on HuffPost featuring you and your art show. I share his appreciation of your artistry and writing. Happy New Year!

    Dave

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      Daniel’s piece is outstanding. Thanks for reading it! I know he’ll appreciate that. Daniel is a very dear friend and a superb writer and reviewer.

      Best wishes for a happy and healthy 2014!

      Claudia

  6. Jennifer says:

    Happy New Year, Claudia – hope you have a good year. And hope you make it to the Frick eventually!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Thank you friend! And yes I will make it into the Frick come hell or high water! :lol:

      A very Happy New Year to you and your family.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

