Walk to the Rock

The expression “walk if off” has special meaning for art models. Most of us will tell you that the best and quickest way to recover from pose discomfort is not stretching or resting, but walking. To bring back circulation, alleviate muscle strain, and combat fatigue, nothing beats plain old walking. Today, after a morning modeling job at the Century Club, a private, exclusive club in midtown Manhattan, I needed a good walk to get my sore hip flexor back to normal. With the rest of the day off, I had plenty of time to take a leisurely stroll a few blocks north, cold weather be dammed. Bundled up in my scarf, hat, warm winter coat, with my modeling bag slung over my shoulder, the walk was – this avowed “summer person” admits – quite invigorating in both body and spirit.

After a stop for a delicious hot herbal tea, I made my way to Rockefeller Center, the polestar of NYC tourist attractions during the Christmas season. I took a few pictures to share. Here’s the big Rock Center tree with silver flags blowing in front:

IMG_5900

The golden Prometheus watches over the ice skaters:

IMG_5905

Toy soldier blowing his horn:

IMG_5906

Angels on the promenade:

IMG_5919

IMG_5928

I leave you all with these scenes of my twinkling, shimmering, frosty and festive holiday city. Meet you right back here on Sunday for the Museworthy Art Show :-)

8 thoughts on “Walk to the Rock

  1. Dave says:

    Claudia,
    I know exactly what you mean about walking it off after a long session. Alas, I usually have to get in a car and drive a half hour or so, which doesn’t help at all. It would be great to be able to walk around a great city like New York until the muscles eased up. Thanks for sharing those great photos.

    Dave

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      I wish I had time for a good walk after every modeling job, but often I have limited time rushing to get to the next job! Glad you enjoyed the photos. Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love the angels in the greenery :) Looking forward very much to the art show!

  3. Dan Hawkins says:

    Claudia:
    I have always been a walker. It helps clear my mind which is good when I’m involved in a writing project, and it also helps keep my body fit. It has always been nice to take a walk around a college campus after modeling for a drawing or painting class.

    As for walking in Manhattan, I envy you. That was the one thing I loved when I lived in New York 20 years ago, walking around Midtown. There’s something about the crowds, the buildings, the traffic. I used to think that NYC was this independent living entity with each of us contributing like a red blood cell in a body. I know that sounds crazy…

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      Actually that doesn’t sound crazy at all. I think it’s an apt description. I didn’t know you used to live here! In case you were wondering, the crowds, traffic, etc. haven’t changed much in 20 years. Well, maybe they’ve gotten worse!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  4. Bill says:

    Interesting — this reminded me of a recent article I had read. I hope that no tourists were harmed in the making of this blog posting :-)

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/12/12/new-york-city-tourists_n_4434369.html

    Looking forward to Sunday!

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I so don’t want to sound like one of those New Yorkers, but there is a lot of truth to that article! Yes, the tourists do tend to come to full stops on the sidewalks for sightseeing/photography, and it does hinder the brisk pedestrian flow we natives are obsessed with. New Yorkers always seem to walk with “purpose”, even if we have no urgent purpose! I assure you no tourists were harmed in the making of this blog post, as I took my pictures in an unobtrusive way like I always try to do.

      Sunday is almost here! Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

