A Trip for Mom

A little Music Monday as a send off for my mother as she embarks on a late summer sojourn in France. She is leaving tomorrow for painting and touring in Provence and Paris.  To say she’s excited would be a huge understatement! Mom will be traveling with a group of women and I wish her an absolutely wonderful, inspirational, and magnificent time. I also worry about her safety because I’m such a doting daughter. But as long as she stays in touch regularly with her special phone – text, Mom, TEXT! – everything should be okay :-)

In this video we have gorgeous paintings by the French artist Camille Pissarro, both rural and city scenes, accompanied by Chopin’s Mazurka Op. 59 in A minor performed by Michel Block. Lovely.

10 thoughts on “A Trip for Mom

  1. derek says:

    I am o glad she is living her life to the fullest. I believe she is in Paris with her mates to find inspiration and maybe she will have another masterpiece from her. she always had an eye for the arts. I wish her nothing but the best for her. I look forward to our pieces for the Museworthy annual gallery. BTW I love Chopin;s music. I also fancy Hector Berlioz. I wish I can go to France. The last time I went to Jim Morrison’s grave . I wish I can travel but my doctor advised me not to.
    Paris is a creative environment for artist after all I do fancy her work and of your friends works which they have illustrated you and you have become a great muse. Anyway send her my regards.

    Derek
    Brisbane, Australia

    • Elaine says:

      Derek, after being in France many years ago, I dreamt of returning one day. As an artist what could be a more inspirational place to see beauty
      and live it even for a short time. I wish you could go some day but
      your doctor knows what’s best. I’ll think of you and all my other artist friends when I’m there. Take care of yourself.

      Elaine

  2. Elaine says:

    Thank you darling for an inspirational sendoff. The choice of Pissarro’s
    paintings was perfect. Paris scenes and country images. The music
    was a beautiful counterpoint to the paintings. Loved it. You are the best daughter a mother can have.

  3. fredh1 says:

    Have a wonderful time in one of the most beautiful places in the world, Elaine!

  4. artmodel says:

    Hey Fred, Derek, and everyone. Mama is on her way. My brother and I took her to the airport, saw her off, and she’s so very excited for her trip. True to form, Mom is super well-organized with her art supplies, journals, iPhone for photo taking, and a pretty sun hat – pale orange with a bow – that I bought for her as a going-away present :-)

    For the next nine days I’ll be going over to her house twice a day to feed the cats. Like me, they will miss their Mommy.

    Claudia

    • Bill says:

      That’s great — I’m sure she’ll have a wonderful time. We went to Paris (and Scotland) many years ago on our honeymoon. To me, Paris is about art and love — but also about wine and croissant.

      • artmodel says:

        Bill,

        No joke, I specifically instructed my mother to indulge in croissants when she’s in Paris! I don’t eat them anymore because of the butter, but damn they are good :-)

        Thanks for your comments!

        Claudia

  5. Jennifer says:

    It sounded a brilliant trip and I hope your mum had a fantastic time!

Leave a Reply

