22nd of July

Rose Kennedy, Alexander Calder, Oscar de la Renta, S.E. Hinton, Sparky Lyle, Orson Bean, John Leguizamo, Bob Dole, Willem Dafoe, Emma Lazarus, Alex Trebek,, Philip I Habsburg King of Spain. Quite a diverse assortment of famous folks with whom I share my birthday. The July 22nd club also includes an Italian monk, a Russian physicist, two Confederate generals, a French mystic, several composers, an opera singer, a Third Reich war criminal, an astronomer, a wrestler, a jockey, and a cricketer.

Most people get a kick out of learning who shares their birthday. It’s a fun diversion, and I found my list here. But there’s often one individual in particular which excites us the most when we see their name on the list. For me, it’s Edward Hopper. Yeah, baby! If you’re wondering how it feels to share a birthday with your favorite artist, the answer is it feels fabulous. Those of you who have been reading this blog for some time are well-aware of my love for Edward Hopper and the profound effect his work has on me. So it must have been fate that caused my mother to go into labor on July 22nd in 1968.

From the birthday boy, this is Hopper’s exquisite Summer Evening, from 1947:

hopper.summer-evening

And of course my birthday falls on a Monday this year which means “Music Monday”! Of July 22nd music babies I had a few choices. Rufus Wainwright is one. I like Rufus but I’m not in the mood for him today. Don Henley. Not really a fan. My apologies to Eagles people. If I never hear “Hotel California” again for the rest of my life that would be perfectly fine. There’s also jazz guitarist Al Di Meola, a fantastic musician. My brother used to listen to Di Meola a lot when we were growing up. And we can’t overlook Parliament/Funkadelic mastermind George Clinton. I’m not using him for Music Monday because, well, not everybody’s got the funk :lol:

So I decided to go with the wonderful singer Margaret Whiting, who was born July 22nd in 1924 and passed away in 2011. Here she is singing the delightful “I Won’t Dance”, composed by the great American songwriter Jerome Kern who was not born on July 22nd, but we won’t hold that against him ;-)

18 thoughts on “22nd of July

  1. Maria says:

    Have a wonderful day Birthday girl. Thanks for sharing your day with the rest of us. Hope its a creative and nurturing year for you.

  2. derek says:

    Happy 45 years of your life
    I remember that year, I was in college in London and I remember seeing Cream and Jimi hendrix live and I had the White Album by the Beatles, and I remember seeing the news of Robert Kennedy murdered at 42 while running for an office his brother had before. The 1960′s was both for me a blessing and a curse caused I lived it. Vinyl existed and technology was very primitive.

    Overall at the time I was young and naive back then, now I am older and wiser. I hope you have a great birthday party and you still look very youthful 45 years young.Your birthday is a celebration of greatness in the fuiture to come and I than k you for sharing your body of work and knowledge.
    Here is a song from someone I was fortunate to see and I know that you are a fan of this old bloke who we miss terribly this is a song that came at that time a slower version of “Revolution”
    from the “White Album”

    Happy birthday lovely muse

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      Thanks for the video! A terrific birthday present. I’ve always liked Revolution 1. And the footage of the boys is great stuff! They look adorable, as they often did :-)

      I think many people of your generation would agree with your assessment that the 60s were both “a blessing and a curse”. And my birth year of 68 was probably the most tumultuous one of the period. Much social upheaval.

      Thanks again, friend, for the music and for your thoughts and remembrances.

      Claudia

  3. cauartprof says:

    Claudia,
    Happy Birthday to you from the Southern states! There was a nice piece on NPR by Billy Collins about Hopper’s B-Day earlier this morning. Very cool to share with an American painting icon! Hope you get the gift of a breeze.
    Chris

    • artmodel says:

      Chris,

      Many thanks! I appreciate the Southern love :-)
      I’m going to check out the NPR segment. Sounds very interesting.

      Great to hear from you!

      Claudia

  4. Allan Ellis says:

    Now you share your birthday with a royal…

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. Steve says:

    Hey there young lady happy birthday, enjoy!

  6. Bill says:

    Just saw your posting — a belated Happy Birthday! 1968 — sigh — I had a Summer job in the Toy Department at Zayre’s — trying to earn some money to go to Boston College in the Fall. If I’d known, I could have gotten you a great deal on a rattle :-)

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Heck, I could use a rattle now! :lol: Not that I’m a big baby (maybe a little), but I have so much free time on my hands with barely any summer modeling work. Shaking a rattle would give me something to do :-)

      Thanks for the birthday wishes and for your personal memories of what was clearly a very memorable year for many people.

      Claudia

  7. Jennifer says:

    It’s already been noted that you now also share your birthday with a future king of England, but I suspect you’ll continue to enjoy the Hopper connection more!

  8. Peta says:

    Happy belated birthday mate
    I hope you have a great celebration of life. Derek
    is so nostalgic about the ‘olden years but that is him and I love the old bloke. After all he is still my dad, and he luvs playing the classic and would always talk about the past.

    Anyway wish you great success and cheers , luv

    fellow model Peta Kylie Tewey
    Brisbane, Australia

    • artmodel says:

      Peta,

      So nice to hear from you! Thanks for the belated birthday wishes. Hope everything is well down your way with dad, modeling, and beautiful Australia. Cheers!

      Claudia

  9. jeffhaynes says:

    Hopper was indeed one of the greats.

Leave a Reply

