Busty Lady

First they took measurements of my head with a sculptor’s caliper. Then they slapped slabs of water-based clay on their armatures. Then they began the process of creating portrait sculptures of yours truly. When Mario D’Urso asked me to pose for his private sculpture class in his Queens studio I jumped at the chance. I haven’t modeled for sculpture in quite a while, and Mario is a delightful, wonderful guy, so it was a no-brainer. Here’s Mario showing Lara some modeling techniques:

IMG_5561

My booking with Mario’s group is open-ended. We’ve agreed to continue with the portrait sculptures until they are finished, with no fixed timetable. So as far as planning sessions is concerned we’re winging it from week to week, scheduling the nights according to my modeling calendar, which is very considerate of them.

IMG_5565

Still a work-in-progress, this piece is coming along nicely. And I’m really enjoying watching the class work as I sit for them. They mold, carve, add clay, take clay away, and try to achieve a likeness in terms of features, proportions, and character.

IMG_5560

A sculpture “bust”, by the way, usually refers to a sculpture of the subject’s head, shoulders, and upper torso. What we’re doing in Mario’s class is more accurately a “portrait sculpture” of just the head. But I couldn’t resist using “busty lady” for the post title. I thought it was funny. Or wishful thinking. Or maybe it was just a cheap ploy to get more search engine traffic :lol:

12 thoughts on “Busty Lady

  1. peter howard says:

    Yes ‘busty lady’ got my attention – what a shallow man I am! Good blog though – English man approves x

  2. Elaine says:

    The making of a beautiful Roman Goddess.

  3. BobTheArtModel says:

    Guilty as charged… Hey I’m male.

  4. derek says:

    Wow you look lovely there my dear.
    You certainly are very inspiring to alot of artists out there.
    I wish I could there to illustrate you but since I live 10,000 miles away but I admire the art.
    btw I also still luv the work your mum did of you on your birthday four ears back.Your mum is very talented artist. The artist captured it some
    strength, character and vulnerability in your likeness. You did a great job luv, keep on being influential. You are one true art model legend in the makings.

    • artmodel says:

      derek,

      I love that you remember, and so admire, the birthday drawing my Mom did of me that I posted here on Museworthy. That drawing, by the way, is framed and hanging in my house :-)

      It’s wonderful to hear from you and, as always, your generous comments and kind words make me smile. Thank you so much!

      Hope you are well :-)

      Claudia

  5. This brings back memories of a portrait sculpture class I took at the local YMCA when I was about 13 years old. One of these days I’ll have to post the pictures from that on my blog.

    Do they have you sitting on a rotating platform?

  6. Jennifer says:

    Enjoyed seeing people working through the process!

Leave a Reply

