Joy in the Public Square

When the whole “flash mob” craze started a few years ago I didn’t know what to make of it. Granted, I wasn’t paying all that much attention. I just formed a vague impression that it was little more than stupid hipster/hacker/Internet-fueled/self-indulgent “performance art”/attention-seeking silliness that disrupted the public square for no worthwhile purpose. Ok, so maybe I was a little dismissive :lol: But also, I’m generally wary of the word “mob” and its implications.

While I still believe the flash mob fad is just that – a fad – I have found that these spontaneous public outbursts can be pretty special when they involve music. Not rap. Not techno. I mean glorious music that stirs the soul. I spend half my life traveling around on New York City’s transit system and am very accustomed to public music performances, many of which I enjoy, others not so much. But I would absolutely welcome a flash mob appearing out of nowhere to perform, say, Beethoven, on one of my crazy commuting days. You all know how I feel about Beethoven, right? Obsession, folks. Obsession.

Our dear family friend Karla passed along a link to the Top 6 Orchestra Flashmobs Around the World. I was already familiar with one of them, a video that has been viewed on YouTube over 9 million times. It takes place in a public square in Sabadell, Spain, near Barcelona, when members of various professional orchestras and choirs gathered flash mob style to perform, at the end of the day, Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy”. Obviously there was some degree of planning that went into this on the part of Banco Sabadell so I don’t know if it fully qualifies as a “flash mob”, but whatever. The children are truly the shining stars of this video. Well, after Beethoven of course ;-) Our Music Monday, friends. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Joy in the Public Square

  1. Andrew says:

    WOW! That’s really awesome.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I like the girl climbing the lampost :)

    After this, I watched ‘do-re-mi’ in Antwerp station (the Internet certainly takes you round the world!)

    We need a flashmob of snow clearers here …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      That girl is adorable! I also like the little conducting boy at 4:38 :-)

      Sorry to hear you’re buried in snow over there. We’ve had virtually nothing but winter isn’t over yet!

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  3. Bill says:

    That was really great. Just imagining that someone had a tough day at work, dragging themselves home, and found this — what a boost to the spirits :-) Thanks for posting it!
    P.S. This has possibilities for life drawing. The model starts posing in Times Square — artists with pencils and paper appear . . .

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I know my readers well! Had a feeling folks would enjoy this. We need all the spirit boosts we can get these days.

      As for the flash mob life drawing in Times Square, I doubt Mayor Bloomberg would approve :lol:

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. cauartprof says:

    Claudia and friends,
    In a world where human beings can get things so wrong it’s wonderful to see a glimpse of what can happen when we get it right.
    Chris

Leave a Reply

