De-Cocooning

So now that 2013 has arrived and the “holiday season” as we call it is officially over, my heavenly homey existence of cocooned contentment is also, sadly, over. You’re all wondering, “What the hell is she talking about?” :lol: I’m referring to the manner in which I spent my holiday break. It involved staying in Queens and avoiding going into Manhattan, wallowing in the cozy warmth and intimate charm of my house, sleeping late, cooking, writing, wearing sweatpants, taking indulgently long showers, poring over the magnificent art book I got for Christmas, and rarely venturing beyond my neighborhood in northeast Queens. It’s not as if I lived like a lonely hermit, mind you. I spoke to my family every day and, best of all, enjoyed the beautiful companionship of the man I love. It was all quite glorious.

But alas, the art model’s layabout paradise cannot go on forever. Art schools are opening for the spring term and I must crawl out of my snug cocoon and return to work, like most folks already have. The actual modeling, of course, is something I look forward to and have genuinely missed. What I haven’t missed is the commuting – the “schlepping” as we say in NYC – from Queens to Manhattan. The train ride, then the subway rides, then the buses, then the teeming crowds, the harassers, the sneezers, the cell phone yakkers, the panhandlers, the oglers, the  . . . well you get the idea. I’m going to miss the cocoon! I am a Cancer, and we are homebodies at heart. We like to feel sheltered and safe. And protected. And loved.

On the positive side, my returning to work means more drawings and modeling adventures, more blog post ideas and art topics and tales of the city. Much ahead for Museworthy! That’s a promise. I hope you all stick around for more discussion and fun in 2013. Happy New Year everyone. Let’s make it a great one :-)

The Mirror, by Giovanni Zangrando:

GiovanniZangrando-mirror

13 thoughts on “De-Cocooning

  1. janveninga says:

    You’ll miss the cocoon, but you’ll love working again… I';m sure. All the best!

    • artmodel says:

      janveninga,

      You are absolutely right. I’m a lucky girl to go from the joys of the cocoon back to the joys of modeling platform :-)

      Thanks for your comment!

      Claudia

  2. Drawing Aficionado says:

    Happy New Year from an European follower.

  3. Mark says:

    This is one of the nicest art blogs on the ‘net, and reading it has become part of my morning routine. You also have a great eye for art – the one you posted today is another gem. Thanks!

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      What a lovely compliment, thank you so much for that. I really appreciate it. You are most kind. And I had a feeling that my readers would like the Zangrando piece. it’s a beauty.

      Thanks again!

      Claudia

  4. cauartprof says:

    Happy New Year from the deep South! It is great to hear that your enthusiasm for modeling and blogging continue to be positive and fulfilling. Thanks for including the Giovanni Zangrando pastel, what a wonderful piece. I had not heard of him but he appears to be one of those amazing late 19th century, early 20th century artists that were lost in the whirlwind of Modernism. How did you find out about him? Take care.
    Chris

    • artmodel says:

      Chris,

      Like you, I hadn’t heard of Zangrando either! Your surmising that he was one of the many figurative art talents overlooked in the crush of Modernism is probably accurate. I came across this pastel purely by chance when I was browsing around on Tumblr. Someone I follow just happened to post it. Google Image search brings up some more work, but still not much information about him.

      Thanks for your comments and enthusiasm!

      Claudia

  5. Bill says:

    I always hated the commuting too — but you muses must have pity on your addicted devotees. Even the thrill of the Fiscal Cliff couldn’t compensate for the absence of gesture poses. I found myself watching the TV, yelling at Judge Judy and hearing my wife say in the background, “Uh, Bill, is Mike going to resume your drawing sessions next week?”
    Are you guys sure that you need both Christmas and New Year’s off? :-)
    P.S. And yes, it is a nice pastel — thanks!

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Haha! Shame on me for not being more sympathetic to the artists! I confess, I do forget that art classes on holiday hiatus are a deprivation for you creative souls. And gesture poses are, without question, much more inspiring, uplifting, and intriguing than the fiscal cliff :lol:
      But rest assured, we’re all coming back now.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  6. derek says:

    G’day dear
    It has been a sometimes good and bad year for me.
    First I was diagnosed with cancer (lymphoma) which changed my outlook in life and finally I have survived it .
    I have celebrated my new year’s with my family and went to Sydney
    for a bash. I had only water instead of alcohol.
    I am happy you have a new man in your life congratulations.

    I always enjoyed your knowledge of the arts.and all the history of it.
    It is always so fascinating to read all these posting.I wish you the best in the new year happy 2013, out with the old and in with the new

    Luv
    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      And I wish you the very, very best for the new year! You’ve earned it, and you deserve it. In spite of all your trials and difficulties, you’ve managed to sustain a beautiful, optimistic spirit and positive outlook. It’s pretty remarkable.

      Thank you so much. Peace and be well :-)

      Claudia

  7. Jennifer says:

    I read this on my phone originally, so didn’t see the image – I love it! Hope you’re now settled back into the travelling and modelling routine – looking forward to Museworthy in 2013 :)

Leave a Reply

