Edward and Edward

Yesterday, December 7th, marked eight years to the day that my father died. Can’t believe it’s been that long. Hard to grasp the passage of time. He’s been on my mind a lot lately. Those of you who have been following this blog for years have seen me write about him and are aware that he was a trumpet player. So here’s a wonderful Norman Rockwell piece that Dad would have loved. From a 1950 cover of the Saturday Evening Post, this is Boy Practicing Trumpet. Check out the dog!

Rockwell-trumpet-practice

My father’s name was Edward, but he went by Eddie. I’d like to bring another Edward into this post; once again, the American painter Edward Hopper, who I don’t believe went by “Eddie”. But hey, you never know :lol: Anyway, I shared recently with all of you my essay “On Life, Healing, and Edward Hopper”, which appeared on Ethika Politika. Mattias Caro, the managing editor of the site, was very kind to send me an article on Hopper that he thought would interest me. And it certainly did. James Polchin reviewed the Edward Hopper retrospective which is currently on view at the Grand Palais in Paris. His piece in The Smart Set is an outstanding read. I adore Hopper even more now, and I didn’t think that was possible.

Here’s a beauty from Edward Hopper that is especially appropriate because it shows a couple, and my Hopper appreciation has taken on a richer, more intimate, personal dimension these days thanks to my own coupling with the “old flame” :-)

Sunlight on Brownstones, 1956:

Hopper-SunlightOnBrownstones

So that’s our post for today, my dear friends. Works by two American artists, and honoring two Edwards. See you all soon.

5 thoughts on “Edward and Edward

  1. derek says:

    Claudia Dear

    I sympathize with your dad’s loss I have never met him but I amsire he was a great ,man. I too miss both my parents who have been deceased for the past 28 years. I have learn to accept that they have moved on to a new after life and one day we will join them in that new after life.

    I tahnk you for sharing your thoughts with us about your late dad. God bless him and I sure he is watching you as a proud daughter. I am blessed to have my daughter who have been the greatest gift in my life.

    I also love the painting of it as a tribute to him. I know it has been difficult for the both of us to lose our beloved parents. I still think of them after nearly three decades/ Eight years has been difficult at least you have your mum who considers you her greatest accoomplishment . Be good to one another as I am with my own pride and joy.

    Have a great weekend or holiday I will spend time with my daughter who will come to visit me.

    Love and kisses from down under

    Derek Tewey

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      You brought tears to my eyes with your beautiful, sensitive comments. I’m incredibly touched. Nothing I can add to these lovely words except . . thank you :-)

      Sending best wishes down under. Give Peta a hug for me.
      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    As one of the long-standing readers of ‘Museworthy’ I’ve read a lot about Eddie Hajian over the years and have a good picture of the wonderful man and enthusiastic musician that he was, whom you lost too soon and too suddenly. The Rockwell painting made me laugh (I’ve heard a child learning to play the flute when it sounded as bad as that trumpet clearly did; she went on to appear in local orchestras, so hopefully this chap did the same :) ). I’ve printed out the Hopper article to read later – Hopper is such a quintesentially American artist that we don’t know much about him over here, but I’m really enjoying all the paintings of his that you’re directing us to and still working on Paris …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I know you will enjoy the Hopper article from The Smart Set. Slowly but surely, I’ve been converting some people (former Hopper skeptics) into Hopper appreciators. I’m on a mission!

      Yes, the Rockwell piece is funny, and very charming. My Dad would have loved it.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Paul Darst says:

    Gee, that’s a nice Norman Rockwell. Thanks; it’s nice having someone select art for my viewing.

Leave a Reply

