A Vintage Music Mag

God help the poor soul who ever accompanies me to an antiques store, vintage shop, or collectibles joint. He or she can expect to wait a long time. I’m incapable of walking past those places without going through the door, and once inside I will browse. And browse and browse and browse. If I had more space in my house, and more money, I would buy up every old piece of memorabilia and collectible thingie from a bygone era that I could find and hoard that stuff like there’s no tomorrow. A commemorative ashtray from the 1901 World’s Fair? Hell yeah. A French perfume bottle from the 1890s? Absolutely. A tortoiseshell ladies hair comb from 1915? Bring it. A Honus Wagner baseball card? No brainer.

A few weeks ago I was in New Hope, Pennsylvania to view the “Naked in New Hope” art show. Afterwards my Mom and I strolled the town and enjoyed its many charming shops. In one of the antiques stores a table of vintage magazines commanded my attention, in particular an old music periodical from 1920 encased in a plastic sleeve. It was called “The Etude”, and at the price of a mere twelve bucks I knew I had to bring it home. It also occurred to me that it might make a nice subject for a Museworthy Music Monday. See how I’m always thinking about my readers? Faithful blogger at your service :-)

Articles on composers, lessons in music theory, practice songs and exercises, contests, ads for conservatories, private instruction, and those cool old things called phonographs, “The Etude” is a lovely little mag. Aside from the yellowed paper and some minor tears in the pages, it’s in pretty good condition.

9 thoughts on “A Vintage Music Mag

  1. Jennifer says:

    Yes, lack of space/money are certainly good curtailers of our collecting urges! Looks a gorgeous book. It’s certainly a different world to when this was published, that it now ends up shared with the world :)

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      “collecting urges” is a perfect description! My strategy should be to just not go into those stores in the first place.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Andrew says:

    That magazine looks well preserved! I agree that space constraints limit these kind of impulse purchases. I have a Victrola (made by the Victor Talking Machine Company) that looks similar to the illustration on the lower right of the Brunswick ad. I bought it at an antique store (many years ago when I had a pickup truck) and then found some 78 rpm records at garage sales. It uses metal needles so it can only play the really old brittle records, not vinyl 78s. (Well, I guess it COULD play vinyl records, but only once. It would simultaneous destroy them.) A guy at a used record store told me that I could use cactus needles… I tried it; it does work.

  3. Bill says:

    Oh yes, vintage mags — and that looks like a really good one. There is a collector who created a website for this publication, but nothing can top the actual paper copy. (http://etudemagazine.com)

    Just be careful — collecting these things can be addictive :-)

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Thanks for that link! All those Etudes! Made me smile. But now you’ve planted the seed in my brain to collect all the Etudes I can find! “Addictive” indeed :-)

      Claudia

  4. Lucianna says:

    I am from Toronto where we have got many vintage shops. They offer clothing mostly, but sellers are so knowledgeable about anything antique that they can also recommend where to find etudes. My friend was so pleased with the staff and their advice. They are really a great source of information. I highly recommend visiting them!

  5. José David says:

    Any chance of posting a readable copy of full Thuel Burnham article? I’m an amateur pianist and the article seems really interesting (sorry if that spoils the romantism, but old magazines can also have content which is actually usefull in itself :-)
    José

Leave a Reply

