Klee’s Ghost

So remember a few days ago when I was gearing up for a jam-packed modeling schedule? Well that has since been altered a bit, courtesy of hurricane Sandy. And by “a bit” I mean all my classes this week have been cancelled thus far. If FIT cancels tomorrow, which seems likely, then the whole week is a bust. Funny how things work out. But there’s nothing funny at all about the catastrophic damage inflicted by the storm, particularly in the New York and New Jersey area. I’m sure most of you have seen pictures of the devastation. People have died, homes have been destroyed, and our vast, complex transit system has been brought to its knees.

I was incredibly lucky in that my little section of Queens did not lose power. It’s a miracle really. As long as I’ve lived here, we have been susceptible to power outages during severe weather. It’s almost guaranteed, that’s why it’s amazing that we made it through this particular storm. My mother, however, was not so lucky. Her Queens neighborhood is without electricity, heat, and internet.

Today is also Halloween, but a somewhat compromised one. Kids in ravaged areas can’t go trick or treating :sad: I was going to post some spooky art images in honor of this “lost” Halloween, but my friend Fred Hatt already published a superb post that I couldn’t possibly compete with. I highly recommend clicking the link and visiting Fred’s rich, inspired collection of death and horror imagery. A marvelous assortment of works.

I will present just one offering of spectral theme. An atypical, unconventional one from a modern artist I’m quite fond of, the Swiss-born expressionist and surrealist Paul Klee. From 1931, this is Departure of the Ghost, in watercolor, gouache, pen and ink. It’s a strange, minimalist apparition. I can’t explain why I like it. I just do.

I hope all my readers who were in the path of Sandy are safe and well. Happy Halloween everyone! I’ll see you all real soon :-)

12 thoughts on “Klee’s Ghost

  1. I am so glad to hear you and your family are alright, Claudia. I’m still out here in Minneapolis, but I’ll be glad to get back to the city, even if the T has come out of the MTA. Stay safe and warm and happy. And I *love* that Klee.

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      You’re very lucky you weren’t here during Sandy. It was rough, and a mess awaits you when you return. But I’m happy you’re coming home soon! Glad you love the Klee :-)

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Dan Hawkins says:

    Claudia, I’m glad to hear you are safe and with power. Prayers for those who have lost homes and loved ones…

  3. Bill says:

    I’m glad that you and your mother are OK, although her loss of power can’t be too pleasant. Still, I remember hearing the reports during the storm and saying to myself, “Queens? Hmm, doesn’t Claudia live there?” You guys are so lucky :-)

    BTW, it it’s OK with you, I’d like to borrow this blog reply to thank your friend Andrew. On my recent trip to the Midwest, I used his website to locate a local figure drawing session. Great resource!

    http://www.artmodelbook.com/figure-drawing-directory.htm

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Yes, Andrew’s directory is an invaluable resource. So thorough and comprehensive. I’m sure he’ll be glad to hear that it helped you out :-)

      Thanks for your concern about me and my Mom. Queens is a much bigger place than some people realize. Many, many neighborhoods here of varying geographies and demographics. The parts of Queens that got severely hammered during Sandy were mostly the beachfront communities; Breezy Point and others on the Rockaway Peninsula. I am on the opposite end of Queens. North, much higher ground, across the water from the Bronx.

      Great to hear from you, Bill!

      Claudia

    • Andrew says:

      Thanks, Bill. It’s always good to hear that the directory has been useful in helping artists find figure drawing sessions (and vice versa, helping figure drawing groups attract new participants).

  4. Glad you and your’s are safe!

  5. Thanks for the plug, Claudia! And Klee’s one of my favorites, and the one you picked, which I was not familiar with, is eerie and cute, knotty and simple, all at the same time. And that bit at the top kind of looks like an emoticon.- for an ambiguous emotion.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      You’re very welcome for the plug. And glad you liked this Klee. I’m thinking more Klee posts will appear on Museworthy in the future. He’s always been one of my favorites of the expressionist crowd, along with Gorky.

      Claudia

  6. Derek says:

    Hi Caludia
    I am sorry to hear that, I hope your family is fine there in the city
    al the best and my thoughts and prayers to my friends in the city

    Derek

Leave a Reply

