Coming Out of the Shadows

For six years, art modeling has been my savior. Life experiences bring drama and episodes of darkness, art modeling gently brings the light. Emotional attachments stir me into a whirlwind, art modeling tames my racing emotions down to a soft simmer, so I can work, and function, and be present for others. Me, you, all of us, we must be present for others.

In my last post I referred to a tough weekend, my personal life causing turmoil, grief, and disappointment. What else is new?! How typical this has become. And though this mess is still in an unresolved state, I am still here, doing what I do, drawing strength from all aspects of art modeling- the act, the experience, the synergy, and the end results.

In recent weeks I’ve been posing for a private painting group taught by Daniel Schwartz. At one of the sessions a wonderful artist, Chris, created this work of me, and he really captured something essential. Models see ourselves often in artwork, but it’s rare when we truly SEE ourselves. I don’t mean merely in likeness and accuracy, but in a portrayal that confronts you head on with your own self. In this painting by Chris, my insides are on the outside. His perceptions reflect a certain truth, and I am “revealed” not through my nudity, but through the struggles of my heart and mind. Light and shadows. In art as in life, it’s all about light and shadows . . .

9 thoughts on “Coming Out of the Shadows

  1. derek says:

    beautiful painting and still looks beautiful and you are one true artist as a model that visualize and create art with the anatomical physique

  2. Bill says:

    Really good painting. I think that often there’s too much emphasis on “the pose” — and not enough recognition that we have a human being up there on the model stand. Don’t get me wrong — I like dynamic poses as much as anyone else. They just don’t adequately substitute for the sensitive portrayal of the individual who’s assuming that pose.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      So well-stated, I completely agree. I’m all for people recognizing that the models are human beings :-) I really admire artists who emphasize the humanity of the life subject.

      Thanks so much for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Andrew says:

    “In this painting by Chris, my insides are on the outside.” I love that thought.

    It may all be about light and shadows, but sometimes an artists captures something intangible as well — a sense of personality or spirit.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew, so true. I think capturing those intangibles must be the most difficult challenge for the artists. And it’s very special when they succeed :-)

      Claudia

  4. Jennifer says:

    Lovely painting; also enjoyed looking further at the artist’s work on his website:)

  5. michirezin says:

    I love your blog, and I agree art modeling brings so many interesting experiences along with the work.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get into the NY art modeling scene? I’m thinking of moving there and am sure it’s quite different from my native SF bay area.

    • artmodel says:

      michirezin,

      My suggestions are simple really; call the art schools, ask to speak to the model coordinator, and find out if they’re looking for new models. Most of them are always looking for new people. If you come to NY the best place to start is the Art Students League on 57th Street. I’ve known a couple of models that have come here from California and found work right away. I’m sure you won’t have any trouble.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

