Overworked and Overjoyed

Does a busy, hectic life cause an adrenalin rush? I’m thinking maybe it does. This week is going to be pure, unmitigated madness for me, but honestly I’m  very excited! Here’s the situation: I’m working full days at the New York Academy of Art, plus an evening session at Spring Studio. Tuesday is Mom’s birthday and we’re meeting for dinner at a restaurant in Flatiron. That will be Mom, me, my brother, my sister-in-law, and my aunt. Then Saturday night is the PARTY, the big birthday bash, a gathering of other family, cousins, and close family friends at . . . you guessed it . . . my house! I have to get this place presentable for company. Cleaning, dusting, polishing, straightening up, hiding away all my eyesore crap. The unsightly stack of magazines and papers that I’m unable to throw out? Stashed in a closet. The yoga mat I’ve been tripping over? Also stuffed in the closet. As long as none of my guests open the closet doors everything should be fine. Oh, and did I mention my food shopping list? Yes, friends, I am cooking. Shit, how am I gonna get all this done in time? :shock:

I  definitely feel a little overwhelmed, but my Mom’s 75th birthday is such a truly joyous occasion, a profound event that deserves every bit of celebration. My mother is a very loved and adored woman and she’s led a beautiful life. I predict many speeches, toasts, well wishes, storytelling, and champagne sipping :-)

In the midst of all this party preparation frenzy, I am modeling and making a living. I worked at the National Academy all day on Saturday, and even though my mind was racing a mile a minute about such topics as tablecloths, serving spoons, candles, cleaning supplies, picking up the birthday cake, buying decorations and silk flowers for a centerpiece arrangement, I still performed my art modeling duties and posed pretty well, stressed-out mental state notwithstanding.

Here are some terrific, fun wash sketches by Mary who has drawn me many times in Lisa Dinhofer’s Saturday morning class. These were quick poses and Mary, as always, captured the gestures – the fundamental essence of a figure drawing. The standing one is my favorite. I believe I was thinking about napkins at the time :lol: