Bach on the Highway

A few weeks ago I used a day off for productive, rather than leisurely, purposes. After paying some bills at home I went out with the car to run a few errands. Then I decided to drive out to Bed Bath and Beyond to buy some new hand towels and possibly a new nonstick pan since the one I have has seen better days. To set the scene accurately, I should tell you all that my car is pretty crappy, with an equally crappy radio. Hence, driving is not some cool, enjoyable experience for me. It is strictly utilitarian. Get there and get back, that’s all.

In spite of its crappiness, my car radio does receive one strong, distortion-free signal, and as luck would have it, that signal is for my favorite station – New York’s classical music station WQXR. So I turned on QXR during my drive to the store and a delightful piece of baroque music was already in progress. Sounded a lot like Bach. Mmm, nice! I loved it. I cranked the volume way up and soon my car drive was transformed into a groovy, blissful experience. I cruised on the highway, made spectacularly smooth lane changes, and rolled my window down to take in the marvelous fresh air. It was all because of that Bach. What can you say about Bach? He’s the man, pure and simple.

When the piece ended, the disc jockey announced that it was Bach’s Violin Concerto in G Minor. I made a mental note of it. Today I’d like to share a portion of it for “Music Monday”. This is the exact same recording I heard on WQXR that day. It’s Elizabeth Wallfisch performing with Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment:

I don’t know if this little girl was able to play the Bach Violin Concerto in G Minor, but she sure looks cute holding her instrument! The painting is The Young Violinist by 19th century French painter Pierre Louis de Coninck: