New Year Nudes from Rodin

So I’ve been contemplating what to blog for the first Museworthy post of 2010. There were a few contenders in the running: a biography of a famous muse, a drawing of me done in a sketch class, a goofy nude photo I took of myself when I came home one night tipsy from wine, a picture of my cats frolicking in the snow, links to two articles of bizarre art news from around the world, a video embed of a dirty Richard Pryor standup comedy routine, an aimless, rambling “I love you all sooo much!” speech to my readers, etc, etc. None of them made the cut. Ah, but they will all have their shot at publication in the future, I’m sure.

I decided that the winner in the 2010 Museworthy sweepstakes, the person to kick off the new year on this blog, would be the one, the only, Rodin. One of my all-time favorites. I am completely in love with Rodin’s aesthetic, his profound admiration for the human body, and his “naturalism” approach to art. He valued gesture and expression, two things that comprise the essence of good art modeling.

For now, I’ve chosen a few of Rodin’s watercolor sketches instead of his sculpture, because I’m crazy about the movement in these works. The guy is incredibly modern and free-thinking and sensual. And the Musee Rodin is the one place I hope to get to some day. So let’s usher in the new year with Monsieur Rodin, Take it away, Auguste!

22 thoughts on “New Year Nudes from Rodin

  1. Andrew says:

    An excellent choice to kick off the new year. I love Rodin, but I have to confess I didn’t know about his watercolors. BTW on the Musée Rodin (Paris) website there’s a link to a Rodin Museum in Philadelphia: http://www.rodinmuseum.org/

    • artmodel says:

      Hi Andrew!

      Now you know Rodin’s watercolors, and I’m sure they only add to your love of Rodin. The man was a marvel of expression. He and the human figure go together like peanut butter and jelly :-)

      Thanks for pointing out the link to the Philly Museum!

      Claudia

  2. Great 2010 start!

    Somehow he sculpts on paper; your second and fourth sketch choices in particular, I feel I could walk around and view from different angles.

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      “He sculpts on paper”. Wow, that is so true. And after looking at the pose in the fourth sketch, that model is officially my hero! The woman is flexible :-)

      Thanks for your comments Jim. Always.

      Claudia

  3. Jeff says:

    Happy New Year, Claudia!

    I’ll never complain about a Rodin post, though I must say I’m sorry we didn’t get treated to a silly, drunk, naked Claudia picture. That sounds like a combination that would be hard for even Rodin to beat.

    Have you done a Camille Claudel post yet? She seems to be a perfect choice, seeing as she was both muse and artist.

    Hope 2010 is great for you!

    Jeff

    • artmodel says:

      Jeff,

      Happy New Year, my old friend!!! Great to hear from you.

      Do not lament my drunk, nude, Photo Booth rolling around in front of my Macbook picture. It’s “on reserve”. And it will show up on Museworthy in due time ;-)

      Glad you enjoyed the Rodins, which is not surprising for a sculptor. As to Camille Claudel, SSSHHHHH!!!!! Can it, would ya’? She’s on the way. I’ve had a work-in-progress post draft of her for what seems like forever. Yes, she’s absolutely perfect for Museworthy, which is why I want to get it perfect. So shush! :lol:

      Happy New Year, darling Jeff! Wishing you all good things for 2010!

      Claudia

  4. wonderful ! Love those triangles. Thank you for sharing, I do not think that I have seen that first one before. Have a great 2010. Now, I try to figure out how to subscribe . . .

  5. Jennifer says:

    A life drawing teacher suggested I take a look at Rodin’s watercolours of nudes and, like you, I was amazed at how fluid and ‘modern’ they are. I’ve not seen these before and am stunned by the last one – what a position for the model to have to get into, let alone hold!

    Many thanks for the recent posts and photos – happy new year/decade to you too! Have also been perusing around some of the links that your blog has posted – an amazing array of snow paintings on art inconnu and a really interesting series of snow photos on Fred Hatt’s blog – so thanks for improving my art education :)

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Your life drawing teacher was right. The fluidity of the movement and gesture are incredible. Both models and artists can appreciate Rodin’s drawings.

      I’m delighted that your blog explorations are so rewarding and enjoyable. Great things can be found on the internet, especially in art. I do try to direct my readers to cool stuff that I find.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  6. dougrogers says:

    ??? Is that a bulldog on her head?

    • artmodel says:

      doug,

      I assume you’re referring to that second one? Only you would notice that! :lol:
      I’m betting it’s more likely a bad hairdo than a dog.

      Happy New Year, friend.

      Claudia

  7. Waverly says:

    It was lovely to see Rodin’s work on your blog. Reminded me of how lucky I was to see his work in Paris. A great start to the new year, by the way.

    • artmodel says:

      Waverly,

      I expect that Rodin will make many more appearances on Museworthy. In fact, I pronounce 2010 the year of Rodin! He rocks. And yes, you were very lucky to see his work in Paris.

      Thanks for your comment, and Happy New Year!

      Claudia

  8. fred says:

    Rodin liked to observe models in motion, and made quick sketches to capture fleeting moments. A model that is moving may go through positions they’d never think of doing as a pose. It is quite possible that the fourth sketch here is one of those moments of movement, and not a pose that was held for any significant length of time.

  9. What I love most about Rodin? Camille Claudel.

    • artmodel says:

      Kathy,

      Seems like everybody does! She was a fascinating individual, and I’m going to honor her well here on Museworthy very soon.

      Been enjoying your work on Barebrush for some time now. Thanks for visiting and posting a comment!

      Claudia

  10. barry comer says:

    I was stunned to see “model with foot over head” pose. It reminded me so much of Hans
    Bellmer, but thankfully illustrated sans being cruel.

    What a wonderful site to stumble on and thank my online “friends” who accidentally lead me to new and unexpected discoveries.

    • artmodel says:

      Barry,

      I had too look up Hans Bellmer, and now i see what you mean. However, I definitely prefer the Rodin!

      I’m delighted that you stumbled over to Museworthy and thankful that your online friends lead you to new things. My online friends do the same and I am always appreciative.

      So a warm welcome! And thanks for posting a comment.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

